AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
KansasCAD
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 1 of 13 (185 Views)

Playing with solids and need help

185 Views, 12 Replies
10-13-2011 06:18 AM

Hello,

 

I am new to doing anything with solids and 3d in AutoCAD. I have had Years of Civil 3D and Land Desktop but never had the need to get into doing solid modeling.

 

This is a transition box between two precast concrete culverts.  I am having trouble with an inside fillet (it strengthens the box). See picture.

 

What is the best way to fill in this area?  When I get it filled in I plan to merge them togther into one solid.

 

Thanks,

 

Daryl

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 13 (180 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 06:43 AM in reply to: KansasCAD

Like this?

 

From the Land of OZ

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
KansasCAD
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 3 of 13 (175 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 06:47 AM in reply to: Patchy

Yea for what I am doing that would probably work.  In reality it will probably be more like a chamfer. (Both bottom edges being extended until they intersect.  Is that possible?

 

Thanks for the fast reply.

 

Daryl

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 13 (172 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 06:52 AM in reply to: KansasCAD

Yes, like this

Distinguished Contributor
KansasCAD
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 5 of 13 (169 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 06:57 AM in reply to: Patchy

Yes, exactly like that.  Now can you explain how I can do that?  Remember that I am new at this and I normally only use Civil 3D.  The help that they tried to improve really stinks in this new 2012 version of Civil 3D.  Very hard to get to help on plain AutoCAD.

 

Thanks,

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 6 of 13 (166 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 07:00 AM in reply to: KansasCAD

Not that difficult, you draw the base where they are going to fillet, make it a polyline; then put a node at the top.

Use command LOFT, select the base then the point. That's all.

Distinguished Contributor
KansasCAD
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 7 of 13 (162 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 07:11 AM in reply to: Patchy

I got it done but it created a Surface (Loft).  Can that be converted to a solid so I can merge it with the other two pieces of the chamfer?  I want to merge them so I can get a total volume when I get finished.

 

Daryl

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 8 of 13 (154 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 07:18 AM in reply to: KansasCAD

Union command will glue them together.

Massprop command will list the volume.

Distinguished Contributor
KansasCAD
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 9 of 13 (152 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 07:21 AM in reply to: Patchy

It doesn't seem to work for me.  here is the drawing.  It is in 2012, I hope that is OK. If not let me know and I will try to save it back.

 

Thanks again for all of your help.

 

Daryl

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 10 of 13 (147 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 07:32 AM in reply to: KansasCAD

Type in Region, select the base polyline, then loft.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.