AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
KansasCAD
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 1 of 13 (190 Views)

Playing with solids and need help

190 Views, 12 Replies
10-13-2011 06:18 AM

Hello,

 

I am new to doing anything with solids and 3d in AutoCAD. I have had Years of Civil 3D and Land Desktop but never had the need to get into doing solid modeling.

 

This is a transition box between two precast concrete culverts.  I am having trouble with an inside fillet (it strengthens the box). See picture.

 

What is the best way to fill in this area?  When I get it filled in I plan to merge them togther into one solid.

 

Thanks,

 

Daryl

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,320
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 13 (185 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 06:43 AM in reply to: KansasCAD

Like this?

 

From the Land of OZ

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
KansasCAD
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 3 of 13 (180 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 06:47 AM in reply to: Patchy

Yea for what I am doing that would probably work.  In reality it will probably be more like a chamfer. (Both bottom edges being extended until they intersect.  Is that possible?

 

Thanks for the fast reply.

 

Daryl

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,320
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 13 (177 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 06:52 AM in reply to: KansasCAD

Yes, like this

Distinguished Contributor
KansasCAD
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 5 of 13 (174 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 06:57 AM in reply to: Patchy

Yes, exactly like that.  Now can you explain how I can do that?  Remember that I am new at this and I normally only use Civil 3D.  The help that they tried to improve really stinks in this new 2012 version of Civil 3D.  Very hard to get to help on plain AutoCAD.

 

Thanks,

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,320
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 6 of 13 (171 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 07:00 AM in reply to: KansasCAD

Not that difficult, you draw the base where they are going to fillet, make it a polyline; then put a node at the top.

Use command LOFT, select the base then the point. That's all.

Distinguished Contributor
KansasCAD
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 7 of 13 (167 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 07:11 AM in reply to: Patchy

I got it done but it created a Surface (Loft).  Can that be converted to a solid so I can merge it with the other two pieces of the chamfer?  I want to merge them so I can get a total volume when I get finished.

 

Daryl

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,320
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 8 of 13 (159 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 07:18 AM in reply to: KansasCAD

Union command will glue them together.

Massprop command will list the volume.

Distinguished Contributor
KansasCAD
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 9 of 13 (157 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 07:21 AM in reply to: Patchy

It doesn't seem to work for me.  here is the drawing.  It is in 2012, I hope that is OK. If not let me know and I will try to save it back.

 

Thanks again for all of your help.

 

Daryl

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,320
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 10 of 13 (152 Views)

Re: Playing with solids and need help

10-13-2011 07:32 AM in reply to: KansasCAD

Type in Region, select the base polyline, then loft.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.