AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,722
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 11 of 18 (1,043 Views)

Re: Pinning AutoCAD 2011 to taskbar

06-17-2011 05:35 AM in reply to: flagmackem

If the item is already pinned, the shortlist appears when you right-click over it: if it is not pinned, you get a full list including the option to pin it to taskbar.

 

Since it seems to work just fine here on all PCs with Win7 Pro 64bit (yes, more than a handful), you might want to try un-pinning all the shortcuts you have from the taskbar, restart Windows, and go about it again. Ensure the shortcut you PIN is the one you want to use first.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
flagmackem
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-15-2011
Message 12 of 18 (1,033 Views)

Re: Pinning AutoCAD 2011 to taskbar

06-19-2011 03:09 PM in reply to: pendean

Have unpinned every single icon from taskbar, nothing open, can't pin AutoCAD 2011. Any slight advancement where I think I've pinned it properly, it opens as AutoCAD Mechanical 2011.

I don't know if it means anything at all, but for interest sake we use Inventor and Vault here - don't know if that has anything to do with this.

In my head it seems like I need to do something like get AutoCAD to open the normal 2011 version as default, rather than AutoCAD Mechanical 2011, but I can't seem to figure out how to do that..

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,388
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 13 of 18 (1,026 Views)

Re: Pinning AutoCAD 2011 to taskbar

06-20-2011 05:31 AM in reply to: flagmackem

wish I could help ya, trying to figure out why I cannot pin just plain Acad 2011 either.

 

This is from a normal install of Inventor Suite 2011 using the files downloaded from Autodesk.

 

As mentioned before, I do not get the option to Pin to Taskbar or Pin to Desktop when right clicking on the AutoCAD 2011 icon within the Start menu.

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,893
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 14 of 18 (1,019 Views)

Re: Pinning AutoCAD 2011 to taskbar

06-20-2011 09:54 AM in reply to: ampster

Start AutoCAD from a shortcut first, it will show up on your Windows 7 taskbar.  Now right click on the icon on the taskbar and pin it.

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,388
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 15 of 18 (1,015 Views)

Re: Pinning AutoCAD 2011 to taskbar

06-20-2011 10:09 AM in reply to: ToanDN

ToanDN wrote:

Start AutoCAD from a shortcut first, it will show up on your Windows 7 taskbar.  Now right click on the icon on the taskbar and pin it.


tried that, but after closing Acad, relaunching it using the newly created Pinned link on the taskbar.... it launches Acad Mech...

 

edit;

 

Info found on this web site;

 

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/28847/how-to-customize-your-windows-7-taskbar-icons-for-any-app/

 

will show you the location the Pinned apps are so you can modify the properties. 

 

I used the info there so I could modify the properties - I removed the "  /p <<ACADMPP>>" portion at the end of the Target path so it now just launches plain Acad.

 

Ugly work around, why do we need to do it this way Adesk?

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,388
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 16 of 18 (1,011 Views)

Re: Pinning AutoCAD 2011 to taskbar

06-20-2011 12:15 PM in reply to: ampster

more info...

 

a few mins after I was able to Pin Acad to the taskbar and it seemed to work, the icon just up and disappeared for some reason, yet it was still visible in that %appdata% location the link above mentioned.

 

Found out another tid bit of info, it appears when Acad is installed by itself from the Inventor Suite bundle, right clicking on it does produce "Pin to Desktop/Taskbar" options.  It's when it's installed along with the entire Inventor Suite that Acad doesn't provide the "Pin to..." options...

New Member
delaccs
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 17 of 18 (931 Views)

Re: Pinning AutoCAD 2011 to taskbar

10-24-2011 10:51 AM in reply to: flagmackem

SOLUTION.:womanmad::smileymad:

 

********works with any acad distribs (civil;mech,acrch(i()

 

1-PiN your ACAD Mech to task BAR

 

2-go to ACAD folder and create a DESKTOP shortcut 4 acad.ExE

 

3. SHIFT-RIGHT-CLICK pinned ACAD mech on Task bar.

 

:robotsurprised:4.a.. change shortcut icon to REGULAR Acad icon (go to acad folder and select ACAD.EXE to get ICON)

:robotsurprised:4.b.. get 2 ROUTES from acad.ExE Desktop ShorTCUT properties and PASTE THEM TO properties of PINNED ACAD MECH task bar item.

 

5. ctrl-ALT-del and END PROCESS explorer.exe. then NEW-TASK explorer.exe.

 

there you GET IT:manmad::manmad::manmad::manmad:

New Member
delaccs
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 18 of 18 (930 Views)

Re: Pinning AutoCAD 2011 to taskbar

10-24-2011 10:52 AM in reply to: delaccs

SCREEN SHOT:smileyvery-happy:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.