Did you mean:Ā 

Output a "flattened" PDF

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
kailuairon
13611 Views, 12 Replies

Output a "flattened" PDF

I basically need to redact a drawing. I tried to use hatches and wipeouts to redact the text that should be hidden. However, after PLOT to pdf, the underlying text is still visible for a brief moment as I zoom in/out of the pdf. Acrobat says that there are image masks in the pdf. I've also tried to EXPORTPDF with the same result. How do I output a pdf without the underlying text "layer"? Thank you in advance for your help.

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
pendean
in reply to: kailuairon

Two simplest methods with PLOT/Publish/Export:
- Turn off layer creation in the PDF driver.
- Do not use any Merge Control feature in the pdf driver.

So which PDF driver are you using?
Message 3 of 13
3wood

Message 4 of 13
kailuairon
in reply to: pendean

Thank you for replying pendean. 

I'm a noob, so please forgive me if my terminology is incorrect. I've used "Adobe PDF" and "DWG To PDF" to plot my drawings.

When you say "turn off layer creation", is this through the Printer/Plotter "Properties" prompt when plotting. If so, "Adobe PDF" does not have the option. "DWG To PDF" does have the option, but the "Include layer information" checkbox is already unchecked. I just tried checking then plotting. Unchecking again then plotting. I can still (briefly) see the text below the hatches.

I'm not sure if this is relevent, but I have Acrobat Pro and can view edit layers. Acrobat only "sees" the one layer. However, when I try to Save As >> Reduced Size PDF, Acrobat fails because "the PDF document contained image masks that were not downsampled." Are the "image masks" the hatches?

Thanks again.

Message 5 of 13
kailuairon
in reply to: 3wood

Thanks 3wood! The tip in your link worked! Do you know of a way to "print as image" natively in autocad? 

Message 6 of 13
3wood