AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
g8rrr
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 11 of 18 (1,360 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

09-01-2010 10:43 AM in reply to: uncisbest

i have architectural desktop 2007 installed with windows 7 and i have the same problem

my taskbar and sdi are set to "0"

in windows 7 explorer does not have "tools" or at least i cant fnd it

i found my folders options but when i pick what program to open dwg files i only see autocad.exe

where do i find the autocad launcher? what is the file name?

thank you for your help!

*Expert Elite*
M_Hensley
Posts: 1,714
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 12 of 18 (1,357 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

09-01-2010 12:07 PM in reply to: g8rrr

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\AcShellEx\AcLauncher.exe

New Member
g8rrr
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 13 of 18 (1,348 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

09-01-2010 05:41 PM in reply to: g8rrr

hi, thanks for the help!

the directory acshellex does not exist and the file aclauncher.exe does not exist on my computer?

i even looked in my old 2006 disk since the double click worked there but i couldnt find aclauncher on the cd either?

i was reading another post talking about how the only way to edit dde in the registry and how they control how file types open in windows 7 is with an application called "file type doctor"???

ive read a couple of different methods on how to fix this but i dont seem to have those tabs, directories or files? is this a windows 7 thing? or because im running autocad in "administrator mode" since its got compatability issues with windows 7?

thanks

for your help!

dan

Active Member
DJMCGEAX
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 14 of 18 (1,236 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

11-17-2010 08:07 AM in reply to: g8rrr

Here's my question...... Why?..... I think the launcher only appeared once I installed Trueview but I could be wrong... But why does the "AUTOCAD Application" not work.. Now you have to Check SDI, Taskbar and mess with Windows folders options and the associated launcher applications, Before u just ran Single or multiple dwg mode... I thought it was supposed to get easier with upgrades... and to add to it all SDI is not in the user documentation or in the System variables. I remembered it from a while back but could not remember the name... Aggggh very annoying... Sorry had to go on a rant.

Active Member
DJMCGEAX
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 15 of 18 (1,235 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

11-17-2010 08:09 AM in reply to: DJMCGEAX

Oh BTW thx the solution worked for me also.

New Member
mddinu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-19-2011
Message 16 of 18 (927 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

03-19-2011 05:29 AM in reply to: M_Hensley

Thank u very much!!!!

 

 

New Member
acadguru11
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2011
Message 17 of 18 (883 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

04-01-2011 09:01 AM in reply to: M_Hensley

For me, I had to go to Control Panel: Programs: Default Programs: Set Associations, and then I scrolled down to dwg, selected it and hit 'Change program...' at the top. Evidently when I installed the Inventor trial version on my computer it changed my setting from AutoCAD DWG Launcher to AutoCAD Application, so I changed it back. That's it!

New Member
dusan.neagic
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-19-2014
Message 18 of 18 (8 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

09-19-2014 12:22 PM in reply to: M_Hensley

!! TY MASTER !!

:smileyhappy:

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.