AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
uncisbest
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 1 of 17 (4,845 Views)
Accepted Solution

Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

4845 Views, 16 Replies
08-19-2010 07:56 AM

Just got AutoCAD 2010, its not bad but has a issue that bugs me.

 

If i have one file open, and go to my desktop (or any folder) and double click a file to open it... it opens the new drawing in another instance of AutoCAD.  Id rather have it open in the same instance to ease of use and so it wont tie up mulitiple network licenses.

 

Can someone help?

Valued Mentor
wengle
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 2 of 17 (4,844 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

08-19-2010 08:06 AM in reply to: uncisbest

Instead of going to desktop, use yellow folder on menubar to open more dwgs.

Active Member
uncisbest
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 3 of 17 (4,842 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

08-19-2010 08:12 AM in reply to: uncisbest

no, id rather not do it that way.  I get DWGs emailed to me and i would rather double click inside of Outlook instead of saving it somewhere then going into AutoCAD and finding it thru the open command.

 

AutoCAD 2009 would let me do it the way i want to...

Mentor
Johneng
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 4 of 17 (4,823 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

08-19-2010 09:31 AM in reply to: uncisbest

Is your SDI system variable set to 0?

Is your Taskbar system variable set to 0?

Active Member
uncisbest
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 5 of 17 (4,807 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

08-19-2010 11:14 AM in reply to: Johneng

im not really sure what those are. haha

But ill try to find them and look em up.

Active Contributor
jasonleonard2200
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-26-2010
Message 6 of 17 (4,802 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

08-19-2010 11:37 AM in reply to: uncisbest

Keep in mind some third party software will change your settings to disallow opening more than one file per instance of autocad and will either close the existing drawing before opening the intended drawing, or open another instance.

Mentor
Johneng
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 7 of 17 (4,801 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

08-19-2010 11:45 AM in reply to: uncisbest

Type SDI then enter on the command line you should get the following command line response. Enter new value for SDI <0>:   If your value is <1> type in 0 and then hit enter.

 

do the same with taskbar. Type in TASKBAR then enter on the command line you should get the follwoing command line response.  Enter new value for Taskbar <0>:  If your value is <1> type in 0 and then hit enter.

Active Member
uncisbest
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 8 of 17 (4,777 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

08-19-2010 01:21 PM in reply to: Johneng

Ok i set everything to 0 and it still opens multiple ACAD applications.

*Expert Elite*
M_Hensley
Posts: 1,701
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 9 of 17 (4,757 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

08-20-2010 03:48 AM in reply to: uncisbest

In Windows Explorer select Tools then Folder Options. On the File Types tab find DWG in the list and make sure it is set to open with AutoCAD DWG Launcher and not acad.exe

Active Member
uncisbest
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 10 of 17 (4,749 Views)

Re: Opening multiple DWGS, always opens a new application

08-20-2010 05:37 AM in reply to: M_Hensley

Thank you very much M Hensley, that fixed it!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.