AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
kbolser
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎04-05-2007
Message 11 of 22 (5,654 Views)

Re: Open multiple drawings using one AutoCAD window only in Windows 7

10-10-2011 10:59 AM in reply to: V08J11

I am in the same boat as rmaston.

 

It does not matter if I have AutoCAD already open or not. When I select multiple drawings in windows explorer my taskbar gets flooded with AutoCAD icons.

I can click on the M on the top left and then switch between any of those drawing no problem.

*2012 2, 3, 5, 7, 10 open drawings: 2, 3, 5, 7, 10 tabs at the taskbar.
*2010  2, 3, 5, 7, 10 open drawings one AutoCAD icon in the taskbar.

 

I also am on windows 7.

Active Contributor
kbolser
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎04-05-2007
Message 12 of 22 (5,653 Views)

Re: Open multiple drawings using one AutoCAD window only in Windows 7

10-10-2011 11:13 AM in reply to: rmaston

In the link you gave where it said, "Right click on the Windows 7 taskbar and select Group icons, or something like that."

That worked!

 

Thank you!

Member
BLue677
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 13 of 22 (4,975 Views)

Re: Open multiple drawings using one AutoCAD window only in Windows 7

03-30-2012 02:02 AM in reply to: V08J11

any solution yet?

 

I'm having the same case, windows 7 + autocad 2012.

 

SDI & TASKBAR has set to 0, while working with a drawing, double click another *.dwg file will open another AutoCAD, which cost another computer resource.

 

But if open another drawing from AutoCAD file menu, then it seem working ok with 2 drawing in one AutoCAD.

 

It was nothing to do with Windows task bar setting as it will still count as 2 copy of autocad running at windows task manager.

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,226
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 14 of 22 (4,965 Views)

Re: Open multiple drawings using one AutoCAD window only in Windows 7

03-30-2012 06:50 AM in reply to: BLue677

Double clicking on a dwg file in Windows Explorer to open it in Autocad has been unreliable since Win 3.11 and FileManager.   It's never worked consistently for everyone, so when it doesn't work the way you want/expect it to, QUIT DOING IT!

 

Adesk is never going to fix it to do what you want or work reliabllty the way you expect..

 

Options: 

 

use the Open command in the open session of AutoCAD.  Most reliable all around

 

use Sheet Set Manager to organize your drawings and projects, and open the drawing from SSM

 

of,  if you really really really have to use Windows Explorer to find the drawing, instead of double clicking just drag and drop the file name into the Acad command line.

New Member
rcad24
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-18-2012
Message 15 of 22 (4,721 Views)

Re: Open multiple drawings using one AutoCAD window only in Windows 7

05-18-2012 02:36 AM in reply to: V08J11

I've been searching for a solution for this for ages and this one worked for me.

 

In windows explorer, right click a .dwg file, Open with, Choose default program..., then select AutoCAD DWG Launcher

 

Just selecting the launcher from the 'Open with' list didn't work.

 

Hope this helps.

 

 

Member
BLue677
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 16 of 22 (4,706 Views)

Re: Open multiple drawings using one AutoCAD window only in Windows 7

05-18-2012 05:43 PM in reply to: JGerth

My case was those AutoCAD was attach in Microsoft Outlook, do not expect saving the attachment everytime out from Outlook & right click to open one by one.

 

AutoCAD 2010 with the exact same system work like charm while after upgrade to AutoCAD 2012, I have serious low in resources issued open multiple AutoCAD 2012.

 

Adesk is never going to fix it to do what you want or work reliabllty the way you expect.. <--- you are represent Autodesk I beg your pardon? I'm a AutoCAD user since release R11 and never encounter this kind of issued.

New Member
md.bankari
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-14-2012
Message 17 of 22 (4,417 Views)

Re: Open multiple drawings using one AutoCAD window only in Windows 7

07-14-2012 11:24 AM in reply to: V08J11

thans bro

 

Active Member
klbosch
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-03-2008
Message 18 of 22 (3,985 Views)

Re: Open multiple drawings using one AutoCAD window only in Windows 7

11-15-2012 01:57 PM in reply to: V08J11

I just had a customer with the same issue. We tried changing the SDI, Taskbar and setting the dwg launcher. It turned out the issue was his UAC (user account control) was set to the default Windows 7 Setting. The resolution was to slide the bar all the way down to Never Notify.

Active Member
hamadsaeed
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-27-2008
Message 19 of 22 (3,391 Views)

Re: Open multiple drawings using one AutoCAD window only in Windows 7

04-22-2013 11:19 PM in reply to: V08J11

I am using AutoCAD 2010 and was having the same scene ( of multiple windows) and Dan's tip has worked for me the go the properties and change the launcher one.... thanks DAN

Spoiler
 
New Member
CAD-GIS
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-15-2013
Message 20 of 22 (3,281 Views)

Re: Open multiple drawings using one AutoCAD window only in Windows 7

05-15-2013 05:33 PM in reply to: rmaston
AutoDesk through Dan Scales didn't make the reply clearer. I tried doing what he said to no avail. Opening drawings be it in Windows Explorer or through AutoCAD will open the drawings PER DRAWING in one workspace, this is the default I suppose. I wanted to open all drawing in ONE WINDOW/WORKSPACE to avoid inserting BLOCKS for twenty drawings. From previous versions, you can open various drawings in one workspace
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.