AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
Philippe2000
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-02-2009
Message 1 of 5 (147 Views)

Open Files

147 Views, 4 Replies
03-30-2011 08:52 AM

When you open a file in Auto CAD you would typically find a explorer like window to pop up. As of yesterday this does not happen anymore. Instead a small window (like the dynamic input window) would pop up. The small window asks me to enter the name of drawing to open. The path of the currently open drawing is also included in that window. How can I restore the explorer like setting? The same also applies to "save as"

Thank you, pb

 

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,325
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 5 (143 Views)

Re: Open Files

03-30-2011 09:00 AM in reply to: Philippe2000

filedia set it to 1

Member
Philippe2000
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-02-2009
Message 3 of 5 (138 Views)

Re: Open Files

03-30-2011 09:16 AM in reply to: Patchy

That just did the trick! Thank you so much, makes my life easy again.

What could have screwed this up in the first place?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,325
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 5 (136 Views)

Re: Open Files

03-30-2011 09:19 AM in reply to: Philippe2000

Usually after Not Responding to a drawing.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,648
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 5 (124 Views)

Re: Open Files

03-30-2011 09:55 AM in reply to: Philippe2000

 


Philippe2000 wrote:

What could have screwed this up in the first place?


Publish sets filedia to 0 and if it is not allowed to finish for some reason, it doesn't get set back.

 

Also, some custom routines (lisp.vba,arx) or even a menu macro can change it and fail to restore it.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.