AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
cadamantium
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 1 of 15 (2,214 Views)

objects move by just click and drag?

2214 Views, 14 Replies
03-30-2010 10:45 AM
HOW DO YOU TURN THIS OFF????!!!!!!!

If you select an object and then drag it, it moves. This is without initiating the MOVE command and without picking any grips.

VERY dangerous!!!!!!!
*Matt Kolberg
Message 2 of 15 (2,214 Views)

Re: objects move by just click and drag?

03-30-2010 10:52 AM in reply to: cadamantium
You can do this several previous versions AutoCAD as well. Don't drag the
object after selecting it.

--
Matt Kolberg
Global CADD Systems - A division of Cansel
Distinguished Mentor
tschau3
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 3 of 15 (2,214 Views)

Re: objects move by just click and drag?

03-30-2010 11:03 AM in reply to: cadamantium
Interesting...I never knew you could do that! Not that I'd get in the habit of moving things this way though.
*Jason Piercey
Message 4 of 15 (2,214 Views)

Re: objects move by just click and drag?

03-30-2010 11:08 AM in reply to: cadamantium
Me neither.

wrote in message news:6363717@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Interesting...I never knew you could do that!
Valued Contributor
cadamantium
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 5 of 15 (2,214 Views)

Re: objects move by just click and drag?

03-30-2010 11:24 AM in reply to: cadamantium
"Don't drag the object after selecting it"

Thats the thing. Im not dragging the object but sometimes when AutoCAD gets hung up on something it mistakes a mouse movement for this operation and just moves things to random locations.

I'd like to disable it altogether...
Active Contributor
Jeff_Bartels
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Message 6 of 15 (2,214 Views)

Re: objects move by just click and drag?

03-30-2010 11:40 AM in reply to: cadamantium
Just to add to the drag concept...

If you hold your Ctrl key down when dragging you'll make a copy of the original.
(This can be a great way to make quick copies of text labels)

Jeff Bartels
*Matt Kolberg
Message 7 of 15 (2,214 Views)

Re: objects move by just click and drag?

03-30-2010 11:48 AM in reply to: cadamantium
I've never heard of a way to disable it. Maybe if PICKFIRST is off.

--
Matt Kolberg
Global CADD Systems - A division of Cansel

"cadamantium" wrote in message news:6363725@discussion.autodesk.com...
> "Don't drag the object after selecting it"
>
> Thats the thing. Im not dragging the object but sometimes when AutoCAD
> gets hung up on something it mistakes a mouse movement for this operation
> and just moves things to random locations.
>
> I'd like to disable it altogether...
*Dean Saadallah
Message 8 of 15 (2,214 Views)

Re: objects move by just click and drag?

03-30-2010 12:30 PM in reply to: cadamantium
Showed up in R2006 I believe.

To release an entity, you must let go of the button while over the entity,
if you move the mouse while you are still clicked, the program sees that as
a drag and, well, it does just that. Turn off Pickfirst, or explain your
mouse driver, video card and driver, and Windows variant and let's see if
others with your setup can replicate.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*volkerc
Message 9 of 15 (2,214 Views)

Re: objects move by just click and drag?

04-01-2010 03:43 PM in reply to: cadamantium
This is Windows functionality. Left Pick and Drag moves an object,
Right-Pick and Drag gives the option to Move or Copy. Give it a try in other
Windows applications or even the Windows desktop.
Cheers!
Volker

"cadamantium" wrote in message news:6363704@discussion.autodesk.com...
> HOW DO YOU TURN THIS OFF????!!!!!!!
>
> If you select an object and then drag it, it moves. This is without
> initiating the MOVE command and without picking any grips.
>
> VERY dangerous!!!!!!!
Mentor
Ron-C
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎03-14-2008
Message 10 of 15 (2,214 Views)

Re: objects move by just click and drag?

04-13-2010 08:19 AM in reply to: cadamantium
I don't think my 2011 is working as you describe..........
I click once to select object ( Grips are displayed) just holding the left mouse
button down does not let me drag it.
If while the grips are displayed, but not clicking them, I click and hold on any
part of the object........I can then drag the object.
My PICKFIRST is set to ( 2 ).

Ron
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.