AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
robbinsltng3
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 1 of 11 (187 Views)

Object Snaps....

187 Views, 10 Replies
01-14-2013 09:13 AM

<->Running Object snaps in AutoCAD 2012, it lets me snap to first point, but if second point is the same as the first, it will snap to second point.  All of the other snap points I have set show up, but not the object snap I snapped to in the beginning.

*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,647
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 2 of 11 (173 Views)

Re: Object Snaps....

01-14-2013 12:19 PM in reply to: robbinsltng3

You might want to rephrase your post.  I'm not sure it is understandable in its present form.

Active Member
robbinsltng3
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 3 of 11 (164 Views)

Re: Object Snaps....

01-14-2013 01:49 PM in reply to: robbinsltng3

The problem is my running object snaps.  I have them set to intersection & midpoint.  If I go to copy a line, circle, etc., and I use the midpoint as 1st snap point and I want the 2nd point of the copy to be another midpoint, it will not automatically snap to the midpoint.  I have to actually select snap on the midpoint with the middle button.  When I hover over an  intersection, it will hightlight the intersection & I can snap to that point, but not the midpoint like I want to.  It is the same with using the int, insert and so on running object snap.

Active Member
robbinsltng3
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 4 of 11 (158 Views)

Re: Object Snaps....

01-14-2013 02:41 PM in reply to: dbroad
Post updated.  "...but if second point is the same as the first, it will snap to second point" should have said "but if second point is the same as the first, it will NOT snap to second point.
*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,647
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 5 of 11 (146 Views)

Re: Object Snaps....

01-14-2013 09:16 PM in reply to: robbinsltng3

Certain things can jamb running osnap (and even osnap overrides).  I am not sure any apply to you.  Zoom scale, overlapping linework, too many running snaps, and sometimes just wierd lack of finding.  Sometimes drawing order of objects affects it.  Other times, osnap will completely ignore xlines in xrefs.  This doesn't happen to you all the time does it?  If so, report a bug with repeatable steps and send the problem drawing as an attachment.  I report bugs at autodesk.com/submitbug.

 

None of us on the NG can do more unless you post a sample.

 

Mentor
doben
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 6 of 11 (135 Views)

Re: Object Snaps....

01-15-2013 05:34 AM in reply to: robbinsltng3

Try using the TAB button on youy keyboard while snapping, it will cycle through all the osnaps.

Active Member
robbinsltng3
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 7 of 11 (113 Views)

Re: Object Snaps....

01-15-2013 12:39 PM in reply to: doben

When I do that, all the snap points cycle through very quickly, but inersection isn't one of them that shows up

Mentor
Nik-D
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎09-10-2012
Message 8 of 11 (107 Views)

Re: Object Snaps....

01-15-2013 12:57 PM in reply to: robbinsltng3

Have you tried CTRL+(Right Mouse Button) to specifically select the snap type you want next?

Mentor
doben
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 9 of 11 (104 Views)

Re: Object Snaps....

01-15-2013 01:01 PM in reply to: robbinsltng3

You must be close enough to the intersection for it  to show up; are all the entities at the same elevation? 

Active Member
robbinsltng3
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 10 of 11 (98 Views)

Re: Object Snaps....

01-15-2013 01:40 PM in reply to: doben

Yes all are at same elevation

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.