AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
cadiehl
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 1 of 10 (3,567 Views)

Nvidia Quadro 2000M

3567 Views, 9 Replies
03-14-2012 08:21 AM

I am using Autocad Mech 2011 from the Inventor Suite. I do not have Inventor installed. I do not use it anymore. I just bought a Dell M4600 with the Nvidia Quadro 2000M graphics card. I am running W7 64 bit. I have no idea what driver I am supposed to be using on this machine for the card. Can anyone guide me to the correct one? Very confusing trying to figure out which one is the proper one when I go to Dell's website, or Autodesks website. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thank you,

CAD

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 2 of 10 (3,563 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 2000M

03-14-2012 08:58 AM in reply to: cadiehl

Go here

 

Fill in the following:

 

Products: AutoCAD

Product Release:  2011

Operating System: Windows 7 64bit

Card Vendor: NVidia

Card Type: Mobil

Card Model: NVidia Quadro 2000M

 

Click on "Find"

Click on NVidia Quadro 2000M in the results

Click Download Driver for NVIDIA Driver Release 268.44 [8.17.12.6844] for Dell Laptops

Valued Contributor
cadiehl
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 3 of 10 (3,558 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 2000M

03-14-2012 09:05 AM in reply to: nestly

That's exactly what I did Nestly....  tried to install it and it says "Install cannot continue, graphics driver could not find compatible graphics hardware".... I have no idea what to do now. Very strange. That is why I posted the question here. Wonder why it is giving me that message?

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 4 of 10 (3,550 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 2000M

03-14-2012 09:36 AM in reply to: cadiehl

My Lenovo laptop does something similar. They have it set up to reject drivers that aren't customized by Lenovo... sounds like Dell does the same. 

 

I tried to go through the Dell Drivers & Downloads selection wizard, but it seems you have to login.

 

http://support.dell.com/support/index.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs

 

 

Valued Contributor
cadiehl
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 5 of 10 (3,540 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 2000M

03-14-2012 10:12 AM in reply to: cadiehl

Ya, I have the latest one from Dell. But I wanted to make sure I had the "certified" one for Autocad/CADWorx purposes. All my other computers always had a differnet driver from Nvidia that was certified by Autodesk, that differed from the latest driver available at Dell's site.

 

I'm stumped I guess. But thanks for the input!

Valued Contributor
DVDM
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎09-24-2009
Message 6 of 10 (3,519 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 2000M

03-14-2012 03:33 PM in reply to: cadiehl

I think the problem might be with the fact that the M4600 has both an Intel HD integrated grahics card and the Quadro 2000M discrete graphics. I think it does automatic switching between the two, but when installing the driver I suspect it's finding the Intel graphics, not the Quadro one.

Try disabling the Intel HD graphics first, then installing the driver.

 

I have run into this issue before, and just gave up and walked away from it, just went with the Dell installed driver.

In the past on different hardware I have noticed a signicifact improvement in Autocad graphics performance after installing the certified graphics, so it can make a worthwhile difference.

Valued Contributor
cadiehl
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 7 of 10 (3,511 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 2000M

03-14-2012 07:30 PM in reply to: cadiehl
Really? Did not know that. How the heck do you disable the integrated driver. Can't find anything on that.
Valued Contributor
DVDM
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎09-24-2009
Message 8 of 10 (3,505 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 2000M

03-14-2012 10:45 PM in reply to: cadiehl

I can tell you for Windows 7:

Control Panel>All Control Panel Items>Device Manager

The if you expand Display adapters you should see:

- Intel (R) HD Graphics Family

- NVIDIA Quadro 2000M

 

Then right-click on the Intel one and select Disable.

 

Do this at your own risk though, I haven't done this myself, so cannot guarantee that your computer won't self destruct if you do this.

Valued Contributor
cadiehl
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 9 of 10 (3,502 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 2000M

03-15-2012 02:31 AM in reply to: cadiehl
Not there, only shows 2000M
Valued Contributor
DVDM
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎09-24-2009
Message 10 of 10 (3,486 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 2000M

03-15-2012 03:31 PM in reply to: cadiehl

Not sure how that works then. There's no mention of the Intel HD graphics in the specs on the Dell website, but it's been there in the M4600's I've set up, with the only difference that they've had Quadro 1000M's in them.

Probably get Dell to help out with this one then, you paid good money for it.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.