AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
Fuscha
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎11-27-2013
Message 1 of 14 (464 Views)
Accepted Solution

New linetype

464 Views, 13 Replies
02-04-2014 05:22 AM

I`m sorry if there are already helpful topics for me but I couldn`t find really good ones :smileywink:

 

So I got a Cliff in my drawing and i want the lines to look like in the attachment, if there is no way to create such a linetype I`ll just copy/paste the "crevices"

 

Thx Tom

Active Contributor
dtucker
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎02-09-2012
Message 2 of 14 (456 Views)

Re: New linetype

02-04-2014 05:35 AM in reply to: Fuscha

You can not create a linetype with that pattern. The best way would be to copy and create a polyline out of it.

Distinguished Mentor
JoAnn_Hogan
Posts: 527
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
Message 3 of 14 (439 Views)

Re: New linetype

02-04-2014 06:19 AM in reply to: Fuscha

Hi Tom,

 

You can definitely create that linetype. Please see this youtube link to a video that might help you: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNU_IUISN08

 

Here is the steps in creating a linetype:

 

Step 1: Create the "shape" that is going to form part of the line (Create "Shape" found in the express tools tab)

Step 2: Save the shape and name it something you can easily recognize. (I've saved mine on my desktop)

Step 3: Follow the prompts in the command line. Name, resolution, Base point (Select point on the shape) and Select objects (Only the shape, not the adjoining line)

Step 4:smileyvery-happy:elete the shape in the Model space and re-insert by typing in the word "Shape" in your command line and when prompted, type in the shape name required

Step 5: Select "Make Linetype" and follow the prompts in the command line (Name, description, start and end of line) (It will automatically be added to your acad.lin file)

Step 6: Access your new linetype though your layer manager

 

Please see attachment for a screenshot where to fine the "Make Shape" and "Make Linetype" command

 

I hope this helps =)

Please let me know if this helps
Jo (P.S follow me on twitter @JoAnn_Hogan)

If this post solved your issue please mark as solved and Kudos are always welcome =)

AutoCAD Certified Professional 2014 / Inventor Certified Professional 2014
*Expert Elite*
azrdgldr
Posts: 1,250
Registered: ‎01-09-2007
Message 4 of 14 (411 Views)

Re: New linetype

02-04-2014 07:40 AM in reply to: Fuscha
If you don't know how to code a custom linetype then I would use the method JoAnn posted. I have created numerous linetypes and that linetype can surely be created. Good Luck.
Distinguished Mentor
JoAnn_Hogan
Posts: 527
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
Message 5 of 14 (407 Views)

Re: New linetype

02-04-2014 08:09 AM in reply to: azrdgldr

You dont need to know the coding. There are many ways to skin a cat, just depends which you prefer. Obviously you can go all ninja but for something this simple no need to... I have tested this method before. It definately works. 

Please let me know if this helps
Jo (P.S follow me on twitter @JoAnn_Hogan)

If this post solved your issue please mark as solved and Kudos are always welcome =)

AutoCAD Certified Professional 2014 / Inventor Certified Professional 2014
Active Contributor
Fuscha
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎11-27-2013
Message 6 of 14 (401 Views)

Betreff: New linetype

02-04-2014 08:17 AM in reply to: Fuscha

thanks guys I`ll try that :smileyhappy:

Distinguished Mentor
JoAnn_Hogan
Posts: 527
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
Message 7 of 14 (395 Views)

Betreff: New linetype

02-04-2014 08:23 AM in reply to: Fuscha

Good Luck Tom,

 

Please just shout if you need any more help. I will gladly assist.

 

Please remember to mark the post as solved if it works.

Please let me know if this helps
Jo (P.S follow me on twitter @JoAnn_Hogan)

If this post solved your issue please mark as solved and Kudos are always welcome =)

AutoCAD Certified Professional 2014 / Inventor Certified Professional 2014
*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,051
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 8 of 14 (390 Views)

Betreff: New linetype

02-04-2014 08:36 AM in reply to: Fuscha

Bear in mind that no one else on the planet will have your shape file, and anyone who inherits that drawing is unlikely to be able to reliably  display it the way you drew it.  If portability is of absolutely no concern, then go for the linetype.  If there's any probability of that drawing being reused/ transmitted/ repurposed, then skip the line type, and use the copy/array tools to duplicate that pattern.

 

(as i sit here with a 10yr old survey drawing, that uses a proprietary shx file to display their custom linetypes.....)

 

Until shapes used in linetypes can be bound into the drawing, custom shx are _evil_.

Distinguished Mentor
JoAnn_Hogan
Posts: 527
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
Message 9 of 14 (385 Views)

Betreff: New linetype

02-04-2014 08:42 AM in reply to: JGerth

This is just a suggestion. What about doing a etransmittal? Sending all the files you need in one zip file??

Please let me know if this helps
Jo (P.S follow me on twitter @JoAnn_Hogan)

If this post solved your issue please mark as solved and Kudos are always welcome =)

AutoCAD Certified Professional 2014 / Inventor Certified Professional 2014
*Expert Elite*
azrdgldr
Posts: 1,250
Registered: ‎01-09-2007
Message 10 of 14 (385 Views)

Betreff: New linetype

02-04-2014 08:44 AM in reply to: JoAnn_Hogan
Jgerth makes a good point. there is also the measure/block or the divide/block method to do what you need. Knowing the coding does help if you need to control the spacing of this linetype or others you may want to create in the future. HTH
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.