AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
markfursedesign
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-29-2009
Message 1 of 10 (775 Views)

Multithreading

775 Views, 9 Replies
11-29-2009 10:15 AM
Does anyone know how to get Autocad 2010 to multithread ?
I recently got a quad core processor but almost everything seems to go through one core according to Task Manager
Ideas ?
Thanks mark
*Laurie
Message 2 of 10 (775 Views)

Re: Multithreading

11-29-2009 11:32 AM in reply to: markfursedesign
Hi mark,

1 Do some rendering.

2 Provide some funds to Autodesk with a view to them rewriting the
program to use multi-threading more widely across it functionality.


Regards,


Laurie Comerford


markfursedesign@blueyonder.co.uk wrote:
> Does anyone know how to get Autocad 2010 to multithread ?
> I recently got a quad core processor but almost everything seems to go through one core according to Task Manager
> Ideas ?
> Thanks mark
>
Distinguished Contributor
NathTay
Posts: 1,691
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 3 of 10 (775 Views)

Re: Multithreading

11-29-2009 02:30 PM in reply to: markfursedesign
>2 Provide some funds to Autodesk with a view to them rewriting the program to use multi-threading more widely across it functionality.

What do they use the funds from selling their software upgrades for?
*Dean Saadallah
Message 4 of 10 (775 Views)

Re: Multithreading

11-29-2009 04:10 PM in reply to: markfursedesign
>>>...What do they use the funds from selling their software upgrades
>>>for?...<<<

Fixing the current version with the next version LOL

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
*Dean Saadallah
Message 5 of 10 (775 Views)

Re: Multithreading

11-30-2009 05:33 AM in reply to: markfursedesign
You don't "make" a software package do something it is not designed to use.
You'll have to sit tight and wait for future versions to do what you want.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
New Member
Geoteam
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-24-2010
Message 6 of 10 (775 Views)

Re: Multithreading

02-24-2010 02:08 AM in reply to: markfursedesign
Hi Mark,
it seems, that I have the same problem. Did you have further informations to resolve?
Greetings from Dortmund Germany
Stephan
Active Contributor
mikealexander5931
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎01-18-2010
Message 7 of 10 (775 Views)

Re: Multithreading

02-24-2010 06:59 AM in reply to: markfursedesign
This isn't technically a "problem" or "issue". It's by design. AutoCAD is a single threaded application. As far as I know, only the rendering engine makes use of more than one thread at a time.

Though the use of the WHIPTHREAD variable seems like it might help a bit... maybe try setting that to 3 if it isn't already?
Distinguished Contributor
ChrisCAD27
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
Message 8 of 10 (775 Views)

Re: Multithreading

02-24-2010 08:16 AM in reply to: markfursedesign
Whipthread only applies to regen and redraw and it will fubar your draw order.
I'm pretty sure to truly multithread they'd have to rewrite the engine.

When I designed my workstation, mainly running AutoCAD, I chose a 3GHz Dual instead of a 2.6GHz Quad (for the same price) for this reason. 3D Studio, however, makes good use of multiple cores I hear.
Active Contributor
mikealexander5931
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎01-18-2010
Message 9 of 10 (775 Views)

Re: Multithreading

02-24-2010 11:54 AM in reply to: markfursedesign
FUBAR is a bit dramatic considering it's only what is being displayed, and in there, it's just not "guaranteed" to be exact. When plotting, the draworder is just fine.

[Whipthread Doc|http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2010/ENU/AutoCAD%202010%20User%20Documentation/index.html?url=WS1a9193826455f5ffa23ce210c4a30acaf-4dd1.htm,topicNumber=d0e360764]
New Member
Geoteam
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-24-2010
Message 10 of 10 (775 Views)

Re: Multithreading

02-24-2010 11:19 PM in reply to: markfursedesign
Actually, in my case, that AutoCAD 2010 LT does only make use of one core is not only connected to multithread. More, during zooming or panning of drawing with pdf-files AutoCAD is very slow. In combination with fading it is not acceptable. Even my system is not to bad: AMD quad core 2,6 Ghz, 3 GB RAM, WinXP Pro.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.