AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Active Contributor
pfilters
Message 1 of 6 (9,124 Views)
Accepted Solution

Multiple Sessions, Taskbar and Windows 7

9124 Views, 5 Replies
02-10-2011 11:00 AM

We recently upgraded to Windows 7.  Now when we open multiple drawings, each drawing is displayed individaully in the taskbar.  This created problems for us when wanting to ALT+TAB through open programs; the drawings would be available for selection and get in the way.  I thought multiple sessions of the program were opening.  It reminded me of older versions of ACAD where you could select (Options>Open & Save, I think) whether ACAD opened additional drawings in the same session or in multiple sessions.  That option no longer exists, and I have been surching for the solution off-and-on for the last 4 months.  The following post lead me to the solution although they were orginally asking to do the opposite.  This post has too many entries (2 pages, who looks at a second page?) and is full of bickering, so I decided to post a separate comment.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2011/Where-is-the-option-when-opening-a-dwg-file/m-p/2739291

The post below explans the solution quite well.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2011/Individual-drawings-in-Windows-taskbar-help/m-p/2702813#M...

Windows 7 switched the default assuming most people would rather have the ability to hover and see a preview.  Maybe that's true but I am not one of them.  The reason it took me so long to find the answer is becasue I was always referencing "Multiple Sessions" and not searching for "Taskbar" solutions.

As a side note, in all my searching, the most common solution offered was changing the SDI variable.  I believe, 9 times out 10, if not more, the SDI variable had nothing to do with what the problems were, yet it was always suggested.