AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
aheartenflamed
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
Message 1 of 5 (1,764 Views)

moving one drawing into another without having to redraw?

1764 Views, 4 Replies
03-22-2012 03:30 PM

I'm fairly new to AutoCad and i'm using it on a mac. I was hoping someone could tell me how I go about getting one drawing into another document without having to redraw it?

I have a plan and elevations in seperate documents and I somehow need to figure out how to get the elevations into the same document as the plan without having to redraw every elevation.

 

any help would be greatly appreciated!

 

thank you!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,648
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (1,763 Views)

Re: moving one drawing into another without having to redraw?

03-22-2012 03:37 PM in reply to: aheartenflamed

INSERT command while you are in the top file.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 3 of 5 (1,748 Views)

Re: moving one drawing into another without having to redraw?

03-23-2012 02:31 AM in reply to: aheartenflamed

You won't believe how easy it is...

 

Open both drawings and set up the windows so you can see them side by side.

Select everything you want to move in the source drawing.

Then simply drag the whole lot of it over into the destination drawing and drop it all in.

From there you can move things around as you need.

 

I've assumed that scale settings for the two drawings are the same, but even if they're not it's easy to rescale as needed. 

 

Dave.

 

 

 

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Mentor
Ron-C
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎03-14-2008
Message 4 of 5 (1,731 Views)

Re: moving one drawing into another without having to redraw?

03-23-2012 08:40 AM in reply to: heinsite

I tried this but could not drag as I thought it should work.........Left-click and drag

But highlight objects and right-click and drag does work !   Who-Knew !

Thanks for the info

Ron

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 5 of 5 (1,715 Views)

Re: moving one drawing into another without having to redraw?

03-23-2012 03:40 PM in reply to: Ron-C

In Windows once objects are selected (highlighted) a left click drag and drop operation works within the same drawing or in this case over to one in another window.  I'm a little surprised that it's different on a Mac, but am glad it worked for you.

 

Dave. 

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.