AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
Justin_az282
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
Message 1 of 9 (1,419 Views)
Accepted Solution

Model Space Glitch

1419 Views, 8 Replies
08-06-2012 12:13 PM

I have a file thats doing something wierd, when I open it I can see the layouts just fine, the existing viewports show linework from model space. However, when I switch to the model space tab I don't see anything, my mouse cursor dissapears when I move it over the drawing area but reapears when its moved over the ribbon or the prospector/command prompt. Also, when I create a new layout with a new viewport, nothing is displayed in the new viewport. It's like the program cant regen the view? When I went into one of the existing viewports and zoomed out I could see all the linework in model space but when I switch to the model tab it won't show any linework or the UCS indicator or my mouse cursor!?! Any suggestions would be helpful, thanks.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,172
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 9 (1,415 Views)

Re: Model Space Glitch

08-06-2012 12:15 PM in reply to: Justin_az282

Start by fixing the file: RECOVER or AUDIT commands.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,963
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 9 (1,410 Views)

Re: Model Space Glitch

08-06-2012 12:24 PM in reply to: Justin_az282

Hi,

 

it's just guessing:

  • You didn't try ZOOM EXTENTS in modelspace
  • or you tried it and the geometry is distributed over a too large area with too small elements (so you can't see them)
  • or you have activated SNAP (<F9>) and the snap-distance is set to large for the currently visible area
  • ....

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
Justin_az282
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
Message 4 of 9 (1,405 Views)

Re: Model Space Glitch

08-06-2012 12:45 PM in reply to: pendean

I was sent the file by others so I can't run recover since I only have the one version of the file, I tried audit and I think it's going to crash, aprearently there are 150,000 objects in the file.

Contributor
Justin_az282
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
Message 5 of 9 (1,402 Views)

Re: Model Space Glitch

08-06-2012 12:48 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thank you but I tried to explain that this is a glitch of some kind, not a zoom issue.

Contributor
Justin_az282
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
Message 6 of 9 (1,401 Views)

Re: Model Space Glitch

08-06-2012 12:49 PM in reply to: Justin_az282

Audit worked, but I almost gave up on it. Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,963
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 9 (1,397 Views)

Re: Model Space Glitch

08-06-2012 12:51 PM in reply to: Justin_az282

Hi,

 

>> I was sent the file by others so I can't run recover since I only have the one version of the file

Please check the command _RECOVER (>>>details<<<) ... so you can!

 

>> but I tried to explain that this is a glitch of some kind, not a zoom issue

Ok, when you say it.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
New Member
dmurphyGE
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-09-2012
Message 8 of 9 (1,287 Views)

Re: Model Space Glitch

10-09-2012 10:53 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Please help. We are having this problem and audit will not recover the drawing.

 

All layout tabs are viewable, but model space is black and you cannot see the cursor or any of the linework. Snaps and zoom are not set, and this problem is consistent between 5 computers.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,029
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 9 of 9 (1,248 Views)

Re: Model Space Glitch

10-10-2012 09:38 AM in reply to: dmurphyGE

Whats the UCS set to?

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.