AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
RUTHMASON
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-18-2010
Message 1 of 12 (10,564 Views)

missing acad.msi folder

10564 Views, 11 Replies
07-04-2011 01:21 PM

HI gang

 

I'm not a techy... I'm an interior designer (enough said)... but my 2010 has failed a few times recently during routine 3-d drawings.  I was sent a link to an update from autodesk, but when I try to install I get an error message saying that the feature I am trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable.  The source is looking for C:\GerdooTemp\x86\acad\ plus it says it's looking for an "acad.msi" folder.

 

Anyone??  

 

Thanks so much

Ruth

 

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 2 of 12 (10,513 Views)

Re: missing acad.msi folder

07-06-2011 06:24 AM in reply to: RUTHMASON

Hi,

 

You could try inserting the installation disk ofAutoCAD 2010 on the drive and, when the message appears, point to the acad.msi file in the disc (Drive:\x86\acad\acad.msi).

 

Hope this helps,

Luciane

Active Member
RUTHMASON
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-18-2010
Message 3 of 12 (10,501 Views)

Re: missing acad.msi folder

07-06-2011 11:24 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Thanks for the note. But I purchased my software from you guys online and downloaded it.  So I never got a disk.  What do I do without a physical disc?

 

Thanks

Ruth

 

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 4 of 12 (10,488 Views)

Re: missing acad.msi folder

07-07-2011 06:13 AM in reply to: RUTHMASON

Hi Ruth,

 

Without a disk is the same thing.

If you have downloaded the installation files, the acad.msi will be in the same folder as indicated earlier.

When prompted, browse to the folder where acad.msi is located and it should work.

According to your initial post, the installation files were in C:\GerdooTemp but they cannot be found now (you probably moved or deleted the folder).

 

Hope this helps,

Luciane

Active Member
RUTHMASON
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-18-2010
Message 5 of 12 (10,459 Views)

Re: missing acad.msi folder

07-13-2011 10:59 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Hi Luciane

 

I can't think of why I would delete this but it is not anywhere on my computer.  So what do I do?  How can I reload the software without a disk so I can get the file back?  Otherwise I have a very expensive but useless piece of software sitting on my computer and I'm getting very frustrated.


Thanks so much

Ruth

 

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 6 of 12 (10,452 Views)

Re: missing acad.msi folder

07-14-2011 06:02 AM in reply to: RUTHMASON

Hi Ruth,

 

If you downloaded it from the Subscription Center then you can download it again:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=613372

 

If not (or if you are not sure, or if you can't remember your login details) then please contact our Business Center.

If you tell me where you are then I can send you the contact details.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

 

Active Member
RUTHMASON
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-18-2010
Message 7 of 12 (10,448 Views)

Re: missing acad.msi folder

07-14-2011 01:57 PM in reply to: luconceicao

Thanks Luciene

 

Mason Design Group Ltd

in West Vancouver, BC Canada

Ste 1 - 650 Clyde Avenue

 

I'll try this link anyway.  Not sure what it will ask of me... but I'll look forward to getting your info regardless.

 

Thanks for your help!

 

Cheers

Ruth

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 8 of 12 (10,434 Views)

Re: missing acad.msi folder

07-15-2011 06:00 AM in reply to: RUTHMASON

Hi Ruth,

 

Please use this form:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=12338355

 

Cheers,

Luciane

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 9 of 12 (10,431 Views)

Re: missing acad.msi folder

07-15-2011 06:05 AM in reply to: luconceicao

If the link above does not work, go to Autodesk.com, on the top click Contact Us, then click Web Form on the top right.

For some reason the link did not work for me when I clicked it to test.

Active Member
RUTHMASON
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-18-2010
Message 10 of 12 (10,412 Views)

Re: missing acad.msi folder

07-18-2011 03:02 PM in reply to: luconceicao

Hi Luciene

 

Sorry to be a pest but I still have not heard back from the form I sent to the "contact us" guys last Thursday.  I received a computer generated conformation that my form got to them but still no update on how I can reload my soft ware.  I even sent them the serial number for the software. 

 

Any other thoughts?

 

Thanks

Ruth

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.