AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
rynoarq13
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 1 of 9 (862 Views)
Accepted Solution

Materials Browser will not open

862 Views, 8 Replies
06-08-2012 12:28 AM

Hi,

 

I have a problem relating to the Materials browser.

 

WHen I want to open the materials browser in AutoCAD 2012, nothing happens.  Previously I had an error saying that the Materials Library is not installed.  So I downloaded the materials Library from the AutoDesk Website specifically for my AutoCAD version and still no Browser window opens. 

 

I have AutoCAD 2012 full version and currently run this on Windows 7 (64bit)

 

Is there anyone that can assist me to fix this problem. 

 

Regards

Hi,

See the bottom of this page:

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2012/01/index.html

 

Or better: http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2012/01/installation-autocad-civil-3d-2012-material-library-error.html

 

Try uninstalling the Material Library using add/remove program features in the control panel and then check if you have an option to install it separately using the installation disk of AutoCAD.

I can test this tomorrow if you don't get it to work.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

 

Luciane Conceição
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 9 (857 Views)

Re: Materials Browser will not open

06-08-2012 03:45 AM in reply to: rynoarq13

Hi,

 

It maybe you don't see the toolpalette for materials or the palette is off your screenarea.

  • 1) sometimes users minimize the toolpalettes and when they start then the command to load them nothing happens ... why ... because they are already loaded but minimized. So look around your AutoCAD-application-border if it's docked and minimized or resize the AutoCAD application-window to just a small area of your desktop (don't minimize it) and check if there are some borders of minimized palettes
  • 2) If you had a second monitor or you had another screen display-resolution then it palette may sit on the old position, but this position is outside your visible area. If so reconnect your second monitpr or reset the display-resolution to your previous values.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
rynoarq13
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 3 of 9 (857 Views)

Re: Materials Browser will not open

06-08-2012 03:54 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA
Dear Alfred, Thanks for the reply. This still does not work. In the meanwhile I tried doing the following: 1. I disconnected my secondary monitor and restarted the computer to see if this was the case. 2. Then I reinstalled the AutoCAD product. 3. After this, I uninstalled AutoCAD and installed it again in an attempt to get a fresher start. 4. Then I did as you told me, moving the window to somewhere in the middle of my desktop and then switching this on and off. And I unplugged my second monitor again and this didn't work. Both, the Materials browser and the materials editor will not start. Now I am out of suggestions. Thanks Ryno
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 9 (856 Views)

Re: Materials Browser will not open

06-08-2012 03:57 AM in reply to: rynoarq13

Hi,

 

do you have the chance to login with another Windows user-account?

If so, try starting AutoCAD and command _MATERIALS within that context.

 

If you don't have to much customization done you can also try to reset your AutoCAD-profile. You find the app for that in the Windows-Start menu ==> Autodesk ==> in your AutoCAD-section

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
rynoarq13
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 5 of 9 (854 Views)

Re: Materials Browser will not open

06-08-2012 04:50 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA
Hi Alfred, I have reset the profile and now when I open the material editor/browser the following message appears: "The Autodesk Base Texture library is not installed." I searched on my product CD for all the files with the extension .msi from which two returned to be Material Related. Both of these are already installed so I can only repair the installation. Therefore it should already be installed. The one thing that may be is that there should be a Autodesk Base Texture Library installation but I cannot locate this. I have searched on the web but without success. I only find the Medium Library file. Is the problem possibly that the computer links are not correct (even after install), or the support files couldn't be found? Thanks
Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 6 of 9 (837 Views)

Re: Materials Browser will not open

06-11-2012 09:30 AM in reply to: rynoarq13

Hi,

See the bottom of this page:

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2012/01/index.html

 

Or better: http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2012/01/installation-autocad-civil-3d-2012-material-libra...

 

Try uninstalling the Material Library using add/remove program features in the control panel and then check if you have an option to install it separately using the installation disk of AutoCAD.

I can test this tomorrow if you don't get it to work.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

 

Luciane Conceição
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
rynoarq13
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 7 of 9 (828 Views)

Re: Materials Browser will not open

06-11-2012 11:33 PM in reply to: luconceicao
This worked! Thanks Luciane.
Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 8 of 9 (821 Views)

Re: Materials Browser will not open

06-12-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: rynoarq13

Great, thanks for the confirmation.

New Member
yomitayoade
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-03-2013
Message 9 of 9 (356 Views)

Re: Materials Browser will not open

09-03-2013 07:08 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Please sir, I'm new to learning AutoCAD, how can i get help in learning 3D modelling

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.