AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
nsims
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-11-2012
Message 1 of 7 (166 Views)

Loss of line color

166 Views, 6 Replies
03-06-2014 01:01 PM

I have one drawing that is loosing the line color when the drawing is opened. I start up AutoCAD and it shows the lines the correct colors. Then as the drawing is still opening it regenerates automatically and before I can put in a command the lines have changed to a grey color. When I try to print the drawing the lines are barely there. Any suggestions?

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,933
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 2 of 7 (126 Views)

Re: Loss of line color

03-10-2014 07:39 AM in reply to: nsims

Can you post a couple screenshots of this behavior?  Preferrably one showing the lines the right way (you said they look right when you first open the file) and then another when they're NOT right.

 

Also -- is this only happening on one file?

 

EDIT:  Does this happen on other computers?  If another user logs in on this same computer, does this happen to them as well?

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,371
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 7 (115 Views)

Re: Loss of line color

03-10-2014 08:04 AM in reply to: nsims

Hi,

 

start command _PAGESETUP (==> modify the current layout), and take a look to the plot style table (upper right corner in the dialog).

There it might be a monochrome or similar CTB or STB assigned ... and ... the checkbox "display plot styles" might be active.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
nsims
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-11-2012
Message 4 of 7 (111 Views)

Re: Loss of line color

03-10-2014 01:30 PM in reply to: doni49

I found out the drawing was created from another drawing instead of from my template. I have transfered all the data to my template and it is working fine. I would still like to slove this because the person used this same drawing for a couple different projects. The problem happens no matter if we use different computers or log in as different users on a computer. At first you could shut the computer down to restart and the drawing would be correct about every 3rd attempt. I will attach a drawing as it should be and another as has been appearing. Thanks for the help.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,371
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 7 (110 Views)

Re: Loss of line color

03-10-2014 01:32 PM in reply to: nsims

Hi,

 

>> I will attach a drawing as it should be and another as has been appearing

Waiting then for attachment :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
nsims
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-11-2012
Message 6 of 7 (105 Views)

Re: Loss of line color

03-10-2014 01:50 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Sorry I am still learning this site. I thought I attached it but something happened.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,371
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 7 (96 Views)

Re: Loss of line color

03-10-2014 03:00 PM in reply to: nsims

Hi,

 

how big is your dwg file? Here's a limit of 5MB, if your file is bigger than that then do a upload at any free servers like dropbox or so.

You might also try to first zip the drawing file and upload then the ZIP file.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!