AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
ArmyVet717
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
Message 1 of 18 (436 Views)

LISP/Routine

436 Views, 17 Replies
11-01-2011 08:31 AM

I am the CAD Coordinator for a telephony company. Some of our projects are very large and complex and require us to calculate the toal length of a conduit run or of aerial fiber to be placed. Is there a tool or something I can use to select a specific layer and have it calculate the total number and length of lines on that specific layer?

I know I can do this for blocks, but I am not sure how to do that for polylines and lines.

 

Thanks.

Distinguished Mentor
tschau3
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 2 of 18 (431 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 08:55 AM in reply to: ArmyVet717

This will give you the total length of lines, plines and splines.  Type TLEN at the command line.

Active Contributor
ArmyVet717
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
Message 3 of 18 (424 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:09 AM in reply to: tschau3

Appreciate it. Next question. How do I get the lisp loaded into CAD?

Active Contributor
ArmyVet717
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
Message 4 of 18 (418 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:17 AM in reply to: tschau3

I may not have been clear on my first post.

I figured out to load the lsp file, then tried to use it. It only gives me the total length for the object I selected, in this case a polyline. I was wondering if there was something that would calculate the total length of ALL plines or lines (in this case around 500 individual plines) on a specific layer. List will give me the legth of a sigle line.

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,273
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 5 of 18 (411 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:20 AM in reply to: ArmyVet717

Not LIST command

Use command TLEN

Active Contributor
ArmyVet717
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
Message 6 of 18 (405 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:24 AM in reply to: Patchy

I did use "TLEN", it only gave me the length for 1 pline, not the other 499 on the drawing. 

Valued Mentor
gjrcmb
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
Message 7 of 18 (401 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:26 AM in reply to: ArmyVet717

Are you selecting all the polylines, when the TLEN command prompts you to select objects by typing All or using a window selection?

Distinguished Mentor
tschau3
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 8 of 18 (399 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:27 AM in reply to: ArmyVet717

I use LAYISO command to isolate the layer, then grab them all with TLEN.

Active Contributor
ArmyVet717
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
Message 9 of 18 (394 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:30 AM in reply to: gjrcmb

When I type in "tlen", it simply says "select objects". No option to select "ALL" or anything else. I would like to be able to select 1 line and have it calculate ALL lines on that specific layer rather than selecting each individual line. There are multiple lines with different layers, so a window selects all lines regardless of what layer.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,273
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 10 of 18 (393 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:30 AM in reply to: ArmyVet717

Tlen, then type in ALL, anything different?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.