AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
calembequeta
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 1 of 8 (403 Views)
Accepted Solution

Line weight

403 Views, 7 Replies
10-02-2012 05:06 AM

Hi

I'm experience chanllenge in editing The line in my dwg. The line weight on my drawing once printed, is not The same as I have set up on my pen setting style. I have tried The pedit function by increasing The line width to 0.6mm but nothing change on my preview window. It looks like there is an issue with reference editing. Any help guys?

 

Regards


 I have tried The pedit function by increasing The line width to 0.6mm but nothing change on my preview window. It looks like there is an issue with reference editing. Any help guys?

 


Changing the thickness of a polyline lets you establish its width in model units, not paper units. Setting lineweights as others have explained will affect the width in paper units if the plot style is set up to use object lineweights. Otherwise the plotstyle governs the lineweights on paper.

This used to be the case, but upon confirming just now by trying it here you *can* use a ctb file *and* pline widths to modify your plotted lineweights

(here's what my plot box settings look like, if that makes any difference)

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 8 (401 Views)

Re: Line weight

10-02-2012 05:10 AM in reply to: calembequeta

You can't use both a plot style table setting and a Pline width setting: they cancel each other out.

Chose one, or the other, and stick with it.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
calembequeta
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 3 of 8 (395 Views)

Re: Line weight

10-02-2012 05:30 AM in reply to: pendean

Hi Dean

I have tried both separately but it didn't work. I usually use one pen setting style for all my drawings and it works. This specific one is not working with my pen setting or with pedit line width.

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,333
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 4 of 8 (387 Views)

Re: Line weight

10-02-2012 05:34 AM in reply to: calembequeta

try the lineweight command.  In the window that pops up, check what the option "Display Lineweight" is set to.  If it's enabled, disable it or vice versa.

 

HTH

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 8 (381 Views)

Re: Line weight

10-02-2012 05:40 AM in reply to: calembequeta

If you want, post the file and it's plot style table and let's all have a look.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,627
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 6 of 8 (338 Views)

Re: Line weight

10-03-2012 05:33 AM in reply to: calembequeta

 I have tried The pedit function by increasing The line width to 0.6mm but nothing change on my preview window. It looks like there is an issue with reference editing. Any help guys?

 


Changing the thickness of a polyline lets you establish its width in model units, not paper units. Setting lineweights as others have explained will affect the width in paper units if the plot style is set up to use object lineweights. Otherwise the plotstyle governs the lineweights on paper.

Distinguished Contributor
pkolarik
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 7 of 8 (335 Views)

Re: Line weight

10-03-2012 06:14 AM in reply to: pendean

This used to be the case, but upon confirming just now by trying it here you *can* use a ctb file *and* pline widths to modify your plotted lineweights

(here's what my plot box settings look like, if that makes any difference)

 

Member
calembequeta
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 8 of 8 (326 Views)

Re: Line weight

10-03-2012 06:29 AM in reply to: pkolarik

Thank you guys, got it right.

 

Regards

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!