AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
SpiralMFG
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-14-2014
Message 1 of 10 (265 Views)
Accepted Solution

License & activation concerns

265 Views, 9 Replies
02-14-2014 07:31 AM

I’m new to company I work for and I’m trying to make sure I don’t violate the license agreement on our AutoCAD 2010.  My records show that we’re licensed for 2.  We’ve got it installed on one workstation (single server) and I’ve been asked to install it on a laptop.  My problem is, no one can tell me if this has been installed/activated anywhere else.  My concern is that I’ll activate the laptop license and it will cripple the one on the workstation which is critical to our operations.  How do I know for sure?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,237
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 10 (258 Views)

Re: License & activation concerns

02-14-2014 07:40 AM in reply to: SpiralMFG

I think you can install more than 1 PCs or Laptops, but only 1 can be used at anytime for each license.

 

Active Member
SpiralMFG
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-14-2014
Message 3 of 10 (249 Views)

Re: License & activation concerns

02-14-2014 07:45 AM in reply to: Patchy
Thanks, I understand that part of license agreement so there's no problem there. As I mentioned, the notes I'm reading seem to indicate that we purchased 2 full licenses but I can't find any way to confirm this. Autodesk doesn't seem to have any kind of customer service available via telephone.
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,237
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 10 (246 Views)

Re: License & activation concerns

02-14-2014 07:49 AM in reply to: SpiralMFG

You can try this:

http://knowledge.autodesk.com/contactus

 

it will lead you to :

 

 

Active Member
SpiralMFG
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-14-2014
Message 5 of 10 (233 Views)

Re: License & activation concerns

02-14-2014 08:09 AM in reply to: Patchy
I tried that. I tried it again at your suggestion and it only gets me to a page that doesn't seem to work. I get nothing but a 'wait' icon and that's about it. Beyond that it only sends me back here. Very frustrating.
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,237
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 6 of 10 (229 Views)

Re: License & activation concerns

02-14-2014 08:17 AM in reply to: SpiralMFG

Do you know the name and phone number of the reseller that your company bought it from? Give them a call.

(Support team is sleeping right now in NEW DELHI  :smileyvery-happy:)

Active Member
SpiralMFG
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-14-2014
Message 7 of 10 (224 Views)

Re: License & activation concerns

02-14-2014 08:25 AM in reply to: Patchy
I did try that to, but call backs were not their forte'. I figured a company the size of Autodesk might have some kind of direct customer service but apparently that's not part of their business model?

I really just need to get this installed on that other laptop. Would you happen to know that if I request/install another key, do I risk crippling the installation on the system it's on now if I'm unknowingly out of compliance? (not sure what my predecessor did) If I know that I won't prevent the software from running on the other computer I'll just go ahead as we really need it in the field.
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,543
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 10 (213 Views)

Re: License & activation concerns

02-14-2014 08:47 AM in reply to: SpiralMFG

Go to http://registeronce.autodesk.com and log in.

What information do you see?

 

Now the problem with this is - you will need the username and password that was used for the original activation.

 

AND

this is the wrong forum for your question.  Autodesk has a forum dedicated to your problem over here

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/bd-p/24

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,227
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 9 of 10 (203 Views)

Re: License & activation concerns

02-14-2014 09:01 AM in reply to: SpiralMFG

Direct customer service is called "Subscription" - if you are making yearly maintenance payments, thats what its for.  There is a site where you can directly submit problems, including licensing questions.

 

Activiating an extra stand-alone license won't automatically deactivate another somewhere else on the system.  You would be in violation of your license agreement though and could fail a future audit which is much more likely if you continue with not tracking where your software assets are.  If you've passed the number of activations, you will be contacted by AutoDesk to ask about it.  Tracking who has which licenses is one of the responsibilities of the purchaser.  If you have nothing to go by already, this is a good opportunity to start (and to keep it up to date).  If there aren't too many computers this can be done manually.  There's a few IT tools which can assist in listing what each computer has installed, but those generally won't tell if it is licensed or not.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Member
SpiralMFG
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-14-2014
Message 10 of 10 (199 Views)

Re: License & activation concerns

02-14-2014 09:11 AM in reply to: dgorsman
Thanks for the responses. I've moved my question over to the licensing thread (thank you JDMather) and it's good to know that it won't put the other system out of service. (thank you dgorsman) I really want to make certain that I'm in compliance but sad to say it's been a bit of a struggle so far. I'll keep trying and see if that other thread gets me in the right direction.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.