AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
unsivilaudio
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 1 of 6 (2,198 Views)

Layers, Paper Space vs Model Space

2198 Views, 5 Replies
03-15-2012 10:32 AM

Hello fellow drafters!

 

I'm looking for a way to hide a layer in model space, but show it on ONLY my paperspace tab.  Problem is, most of my work is in model space (different aspect of this drawing), and although I could pull the objects through to the paperspace tab, it just wouldn't be the way I feel it should be (3d objects should stay in model space imo).  However, for the most part I don't need to see it in model space (except for checking 3d elevations of line segments), the finish product is a printed 2d top view.

 

Obviously this is easily accomplished the other way around, but the solution to this problem eludes me currently.

 

Thanks in advance for the help.

Joel Jacobs
CADD Specialist
Western Land Services
1662 S. Sheridan Ave
Sheridan, Wyoming 82801
Mentor
Ron-C
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎03-14-2008
Message 2 of 6 (2,186 Views)

Re: Layers, Paper Space vs Model Space

03-15-2012 11:56 AM in reply to: unsivilaudio

Joel,

 

  I've had a need for this for several years.......but have yet to find a way to do this.

I would like to be able to hide layers in the model tab, but still show in my layouts.

Does anyone know how to do this ?

Or is this not possible ?

Ron

 

*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,649
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 3 of 6 (2,183 Views)

Re: Layers, Paper Space vs Model Space

03-15-2012 12:11 PM in reply to: unsivilaudio

Copy your layout tab, rename it ModelSpace, in a viewport freeze the layer(s) you don't want to show using the VPFreeze option.  Now work through that viewport in that layout tab and  use maximize viewport so it feels just like MS.  Move over to the layout tab for PS plotting, etc.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Contributor
unsivilaudio
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 4 of 6 (2,177 Views)

Re: Layers, Paper Space vs Model Space

03-15-2012 12:57 PM in reply to: GrantsPirate

I understand you're (bandaid) solution, and you are correct, that would work.  However, I was just hoping there was something I was overlooking.  I would rather manually toggle my (single) layer then have another paperspace layout tab.  Seems silly to work out of a viewport when manipulating 3d objects to me.

 

Fortunately this should be an easy fix for Autodesk, implementing a "Model Space freeze" like our current VP Freeze would remedy this problem.

Joel Jacobs
CADD Specialist
Western Land Services
1662 S. Sheridan Ave
Sheridan, Wyoming 82801
*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 5 of 6 (2,158 Views)

Re: Layers, Paper Space vs Model Space

03-15-2012 09:26 PM in reply to: unsivilaudio

unsivilaudio wrote:

I understand you're (bandaid) solution, and you are correct, that would work.  However, I was just hoping there was something I was overlooking.  I would rather manually toggle my (single) layer then have another paperspace layout tab.  Seems silly to work out of a viewport when manipulating 3d objects to me.

 

Fortunately this should be an easy fix for Autodesk, implementing a "Model Space freeze" like our current VP Freeze would remedy this problem.


What COJonez suggested works perfectly.   I rarely use the "Model" tab anymore because I haven't found anything that can be done from the "Model" tab that can not also be done through a viewport.  The opposite is not true however because, viewports offer a lot of features and flexibilty that aren't available from the "Model" tab.,...  your request is just one of many.
Also, objects don't get "pullied into Paperspace" when viewed through a viewport,, they're still in modelspace.

 

Contributor
unsivilaudio
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 6 of 6 (2,121 Views)

Re: Layers, Paper Space vs Model Space

03-19-2012 09:05 AM in reply to: nestly

nestly wrote:
Also, objects don't get "pullied into Paperspace" when viewed through a viewport,, they're still in modelspace.

 


With the CHSPACE command they can be pulled through the viewport and into paperspace.

Joel Jacobs
CADD Specialist
Western Land Services
1662 S. Sheridan Ave
Sheridan, Wyoming 82801
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.