AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
bustr
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎01-23-2002
Message 1 of 6 (2,873 Views)
Accepted Solution

Is there a way to export custom toolbar data?

2873 Views, 5 Replies
01-09-2012 07:59 AM

I just had to rebuild a large toolbar after upgrading to Autocad 2011. I had to scroll through the old version's MNU file to locate and extract the information. Then I had to copy/paste the information from the text to the new toolbar. Luckily I had the Icon bitmaps saved and didn't have to recreate them.

 

Is there a way to export the code from a custom toolbar that can then be imported into another version or copy of Autocad?

CUI command in R2011 has a TRANSFER tab that lets you open an older or 'other' menu CUIx (or MNU or CUI or MNS) file and drag/drop content (toolbars, pulldown menus and more) from old into new.

 

Was that not an option for you? You can repeat with any menu file.

 

if this is a centralized menu you want to add to multiple users, tap that HELP button, look up ENTERPRISE CUIx and implement that instead.

Active Contributor
bustr
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎01-23-2002
Message 2 of 6 (2,847 Views)

Re: Is there a way to export custom toolbar data?

01-09-2012 10:07 AM in reply to: bustr

Clarification: I got a new computer with the upgrade to 2011. 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 6 (2,832 Views)

Re: Is there a way to export custom toolbar data?

01-09-2012 12:47 PM in reply to: bustr

CUI command in R2011 has a TRANSFER tab that lets you open an older or 'other' menu CUIx (or MNU or CUI or MNS) file and drag/drop content (toolbars, pulldown menus and more) from old into new.

 

Was that not an option for you? You can repeat with any menu file.

 

if this is a centralized menu you want to add to multiple users, tap that HELP button, look up ENTERPRISE CUIx and implement that instead.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
bustr
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎01-23-2002
Message 4 of 6 (2,823 Views)

Re: Is there a way to export custom toolbar data?

01-09-2012 01:26 PM in reply to: pendean

I was not aware of the TRANSFER option. I saw it when customizing but did not know what it was. Thanks!

Active Member
dallen5
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
Message 5 of 6 (2,137 Views)

Re: Is there a way to export custom toolbar data?

03-12-2013 01:15 PM in reply to: bustr

Can somseone just type out a step-by-step with screen shots of what to do when you want/need to share custom commands and toolbars with other members on your team via a common network. Where it ican be found when you don't know how to save as a custom file to a custom location. How to use the Transfer feature in the CUI. It's help is very vague at best. Why does every answere to these types of questions assume the poster has a doctract's degree in programming. Isn't that why they post question because they don't know? Frustrating to say the least. ACAD's help is the same way, very little or no help at all. Would someone please address these issues?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 6 (2,128 Views)

Re: Is there a way to export custom toolbar data?

03-13-2013 06:07 AM in reply to: dallen5

Try this link from a great contributor, 5-easy lessons with lots of graphics:

http://cad-notes.com/2012/03/5-autocad-customization-cui-tutorial/

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.