AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
asciorra
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-25-2010
Message 1 of 12 (7,241 Views)

Installing ACAD 2008 on Windows 7 64bit

7241 Views, 11 Replies
02-25-2010 08:36 AM
I purchased ACAD 2008 2 years ago and recently purchased a new lap top running OS windows 7 64 bit and am unable to install my software. There is no patch (which sucks) and I've tried installing under a different compatibility mode as suggested by AutoDesk and still no avail. I don’t have a subscription as I’m a student and can’t afford to purchase new ACAD 2010 (furthermore I refuse). What else can I try? Will there be a patch? Additionally, I’m running a trial version of 2010 and am very uncomfortable with the interface. How do I change in model space the white background to black? Thanks in advance.
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,267
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 12 (7,241 Views)

Re: Installing ACAD 2008 on Windows 7 64bit

02-25-2010 08:44 AM in reply to: asciorra
Options, drafting tab, colors,2d model space, uniform backgound, black.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 3 of 12 (7,241 Views)

Re: Installing ACAD 2008 on Windows 7 64bit

02-25-2010 09:42 AM in reply to: asciorra
AutoCAD 2010 is free to all "real" students:
http://students.autodesk.com/
http://students.autodesk.com/?nd=community_faq

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Valued Contributor
newwavedd
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 4 of 12 (7,241 Views)

Re: Installing ACAD 2008 on Windows 7 64bit

02-25-2010 09:49 AM in reply to: asciorra
This is copied from another discussion in a different forum, but it's what I did to install 2008 on my Win7 64-bit OS:

You have to install Orca first in order to edit the ACA installation file.

1. Download and install Orca from Microsoft.
2. Copy the installation files to your hard drive or a network folder.
3. Backup the files ACA.msi and Setup.ini
4. Edit the ACA.msi with Orca and delete the action found in the table
"InstallExecuteSequence" that is called "CheckFor64BitOS" Delete the same
line under table "CustomAction"
5. Save and close the ACA.msi
6. Edit the Setup.ini with Notepad. Delete the line under
"#==================== Platform Requirement" that is labeled
"PLATFORM=NO_WOW_64_PROCESS"
7. Double-click the Setup.exe and you should be able to install without any
problems.
8. Some support paths under the "Files" tab of the configuration dialog box
have incorrect paths. The installer adds and extra "\AppData\AppData" to
some support paths located in the user profile. For example the Main
Customization File's path is listed as
"C:\Users\%username%\AppData\AppData\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\ACD-A
2008\enu\Support\ADT" when it should be
"C:\Users\%username%\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\ACD-A 2008\enu\Support\ADT"
Fix the incorrect paths, hit apply, and you are good to go.

Try it out and let us know how it goes.
*A+P
Message 5 of 12 (7,241 Views)

Re: Installing ACAD 2008 on Windows 7 64bit

02-25-2010 09:55 AM in reply to: asciorra
I posted this response to a similar thread from the hardware discussion
forum:

What I've done to get it to work is to copy the AutoCAD 2008 installation
DVD onto my laptop's hard drive which is also running Win7 64 bit.

Then I run the setup.exe now located in my laptop from under the x64 folder
which is the 64bit setup version.
The installation completed flawlessly.

Paul


wrote in message news:6344188@discussion.autodesk.com...
I purchased ACAD 2008 2 years ago and recently purchased a new lap top
running OS windows 7 64 bit and am unable to install my software. There is
no patch (which sucks) and I've tried installing under a different
compatibility mode as suggested by AutoDesk and still no avail. I don't have
a subscription as I'm a student and can't afford to purchase new ACAD 2010
(furthermore I refuse). What else can I try? Will there be a patch?
Additionally, I'm running a trial version of 2010 and am very uncomfortable
with the interface. How do I change in model space the white background to
black? Thanks in advance.
Member
asciorra
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-25-2010
Message 6 of 12 (7,241 Views)

Re: Installing ACAD 2008 on Windows 7 64bit

02-25-2010 01:41 PM in reply to: asciorra
Thank you all, will try and let you know.
Member
asciorra
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-25-2010
Message 7 of 12 (7,241 Views)

Re: Installing ACAD 2008 on Windows 7 64bit

02-25-2010 03:05 PM in reply to: asciorra
Patchy, thank you, worked like a charm.

Paul, for some reason when I tried it still gave me error message "can not run 32 bit program on 64 bit OS".

Dean, thanks I was able to activate 2010. Unfortunately every plot on every drawing that I will ever work on will have "autodesk educational version" written across it. ughhh. Any tips for getting rid of that?

Newwavedd, unfortunately I am overly frustrated and exhausted to attempt tonight. WIll try again tomorrow!

Thanks all!
*Joel
Message 8 of 12 (7,241 Views)

Re: Installing ACAD 2008 on Windows 7 64bit

02-26-2010 06:08 AM in reply to: asciorra
wrote in message...
>Unfortunately every plot on every drawing that I will ever
>work on will have "autodesk educational version" written
>across it. ughhh. Any tips for getting rid of that?

Legally?

No.

If you are a student using it for student work, then it shouldn't matter.
Any real instructor will know about it and ignore it.

If you are printing hard copies only for yourself, there's always the x-acto
knife.

If you are using it for commercial work, then you are violating the EULA of
using the student version. And you risk passing that stamp tag along to any
other legitimate Autocad user if you share such drawings with anyone else
using the full retail version.
Member
asciorra
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-25-2010
Message 9 of 12 (7,241 Views)

Re: Installing ACAD 2008 on Windows 7 64bit

02-26-2010 06:52 AM in reply to: asciorra
for portfolio and presentation it just looks tacky. and if I print as PDF to send my project samples to a potential employer...unprofessional. It bothers me tremendously becasuse as I said earlier I paid for a full version of ACAD 2008...this just doesn't seem fair.
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,267
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 10 of 12 (7,241 Views)

Re: Installing ACAD 2008 on Windows 7 64bit

02-26-2010 07:08 AM in reply to: asciorra
$100 for an old PC running XP is not a bad idea.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.