AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 1 of 3 (139 Views)
Accepted Solution

Insert Scaling Issues

139 Views, 2 Replies
04-28-2012 04:22 PM

Someone please explain to me what might be happening in the following scenario:

 

I have two drawings with,

 

  • UNITS in both FEET. 
  • Insertion scale in both FEET. 
  • INSBASE = 0,0,0 in both files
  • INSUNITS = 2 in both files
  • INSUNITDEFSOURCE = 2 in both files
  • INSUNITSDEFTARGET = 2 in both files

 

Yet when I INSERT one into the other the inserted drawing *still* needs to be scaled by 12 to come in at the right location and be sized correctly.  If I SAVEAS this same file as a DXF and insert that file it does *not* need to be scaled.  It comes in correctly.

 

Using 2012.  WTH is going on?!  :smileyfrustrated:

 

Thanks,

Dave

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.

Hi,

 

was any of these both drawings opened by ACA or CIVIL or any vertical product?

Have you tried to -EXPORTTOAUTOCAD before inserting? It's nothing I would do if not necessary, but for now to come more close to the problem you could test it.

 

- alfred -

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,216
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 3 (130 Views)

Re: Insert Scaling Issues

04-28-2012 08:12 PM in reply to: heinsite

Hi,

 

was any of these both drawings opened by ACA or CIVIL or any vertical product?

Have you tried to -EXPORTTOAUTOCAD before inserting? It's nothing I would do if not necessary, but for now to come more close to the problem you could test it.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 3 of 3 (127 Views)

Re: Insert Scaling Issues

04-29-2012 12:26 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thanks, Alfred.  That's basically what I had to do.  I started a new drawing with a known good template and simply copied all of the objects in the bad file into it.  When I inserted that one (or xref'd it) there were no scaling issues.  In the interest of time I'm not even going to bother with figuring out what was going on in the original.  As long as it works now I'm happy.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.