AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,311
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 6 (6,536 Views)

How to Zoom out and Pan more?

6536 Views, 5 Replies
12-09-2011 02:40 AM

How to Zoom out and Pan more?

 

Why does it say:

  1. Already zoomed out as far as possible
  2. Already at top most extent

 Clip_51.jpg

Clip_52.jpg

Then how to zoom out and pan more?

 

Thank you in advance,

 

Regards

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,172
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 6 (6,532 Views)

Re: How to Zoom out and Pan more?

12-09-2011 04:24 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

REGEN command

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,311
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 3 of 6 (6,515 Views)

Re: How to Zoom out and Pan more?

12-09-2011 09:31 AM in reply to: pendean

Many thanks Dean.

 

Do i need to repeat the command for furhter zooming out?

 

Why one time is not enough?

 

regards

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,040
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 4 of 6 (6,507 Views)

Re: How to Zoom out and Pan more?

12-09-2011 10:33 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Here's why.  Autocad keeps a virtual screen in memory, and as long as you are only panning/zooming within the limits of that virtual screen, only a REDRAW is required to paint the screen.  REDRAW operations are much faster than REGENS, so your perceived perfomance is better.  Once you've hit the limits of that virtual screen, either zooming in or zooming out, a regen is needed to calculate the position of everything in the drawing.

 

If every pan and zoom operation required a REGEN, then dynamic zoom would be impossible -- every clock of the mouse wheel would force a regen, and life would be very slow paced..

*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 1,005
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 5 of 6 (6,500 Views)

Re: How to Zoom out and Pan more?

12-09-2011 11:59 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

zoom .3x

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,172
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 6 (6,487 Views)

Re: How to Zoom out and Pan more?

12-09-2011 03:12 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Anytime it comes up, use it.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.