AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
jason75
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-10-2010
Message 1 of 5 (265 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to use -Insert

265 Views, 4 Replies
02-25-2014 05:08 PM

I am trying to write a script and I need some help.

I need to inset a block using -insert. Then i need to specify a file path and then the block name.

 

 

File path: svr\access\test\revision

Block name

P2.scr

 

 

-insert C:/svr/access/test/revision/p2 0,0 1 1 0 Assumptions: the file is on your C drive, if not use the correct one. The block is named P2, if not substitute for the correct one. Insertion point is 0,0, scale of X and Y is 1, rotation is 0.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,698
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (238 Views)

Re: How to use -Insert

02-25-2014 08:36 PM in reply to: jason75
What do you type at the command line after you type -INSERT? Scripts are just that, what you can type and get to work at the commandline.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 2,019
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 3 of 5 (216 Views)

Re: How to use -Insert

02-26-2014 06:52 AM in reply to: jason75

As Dean said, a script contains the same thing you'd enter at the command line.  The simplest way to get what you need is to open notepad and acad.  Then do the first one manually and start entering the info into acad -- start with -insert.  Then everytime you press enter, type the same exact thing in notepad (every time you hit enter in acad, that belongs on a new line in notepad).  Then after you're done with the first one, you should be able to save and use your script file.

 

After that, if you still have issues, come back and ask.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,404
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 4 of 5 (209 Views)

Re: How to use -Insert

02-26-2014 09:13 AM in reply to: doni49

 

Hello

 

You have written ---> File path: svr\access\test\revision

 

It could be --> File path: \\svr\access\test\revision

if \\srv is the hostname of your Server !?

 

Bye, Pat

 

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,649
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 5 of 5 (192 Views)

Re: How to use -Insert

02-28-2014 07:45 AM in reply to: jason75
-insert C:/svr/access/test/revision/p2 0,0 1 1 0 Assumptions: the file is on your C drive, if not use the correct one. The block is named P2, if not substitute for the correct one. Insertion point is 0,0, scale of X and Y is 1, rotation is 0.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.