AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,360
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 7 (1,234 Views)

How to have more than one point style in the same file?

1234 Views, 6 Replies
04-23-2012 01:06 PM

How to have more than one point style in the same file?

 

I’m wondering if there is a way to have more than one point style in the same file?

 

Is that possible?

 

Thank you for the help

 

Best

 

Jamal

 

Clip_862.jpg

 

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (1,231 Views)

Re: How to have more than one point style in the same file?

04-23-2012 01:08 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Only one at a time in a file: sounds like you are in dire need of a 'points' symbols library.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,360
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 3 of 7 (1,219 Views)

Re: How to have more than one point style in the same file?

04-23-2012 02:25 PM in reply to: pendean

Many thanks.

 

The point style should be like other styles (dimension, text, table, leader, etc)

 

Best

 

Jamal

 

Clip_866.jpg

 

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 4 of 7 (1,207 Views)

Re: How to have more than one point style in the same file?

04-23-2012 10:38 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Dean is correct here, Jamal.  Points are created by a variety of commands in AutoCAD including the POINT command, MEASURE and DIVIDE.  As such, a point is really what I'd call a "utility" object.  It's not intended to be a permanent part of a drawing.  Points are generally either temporary or included only on a layer like DEFPOINTS, or another that never plots.  If you do have use for something like a point in your drawings, create dedicated blocks for them and stash them on a custom tool palette with their standard layer(s) preset.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Posts: 827
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Message 5 of 7 (1,202 Views)

Re: How to have more than one point style in the same file?

04-24-2012 12:48 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Jamal hi

 

Does custom linetypes can accomplish your need?

 

Moshe

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 7 (1,192 Views)

Re: How to have more than one point style in the same file?

04-24-2012 05:18 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

I take it you've never zoomed out, then REGENALL, and watch your custom point shapes explode in size yet? Your inexperienced CAD-life is in for a shock :smileyhappy:

 

You are barking up the wrong tree with this idea: if you want something permanently displayed, you need to create a custom object (block is ideal in this case) to display it at the size and shape(s) you need. DIVIDE and MEASURE commands can use blocks instead of points, get creative and take control of your drawings.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,360
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 7 of 7 (1,178 Views)

Re: How to have more than one point style in the same file?

04-24-2012 02:33 PM in reply to: pendean
Many thanks guys for the comments. They are quite valuable. Best Jamal
----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.