AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
GeoSchaap
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-02-2011
Message 1 of 7 (6,189 Views)

How to create a point where 2 lines intersect?

6189 Views, 6 Replies
06-09-2011 03:19 AM

I have 2 lines, want to find and mark theire intersection point, there is any command that I can pick to lines and a point (or any othere suggestion) will be created?

 

thanks :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,494
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (6,174 Views)

Re: How to create a point where 2 lines intersect?

06-09-2011 05:18 AM in reply to: GeoSchaap
Look up Apparent Intersection Osnap in Help: while in a command type APP to use it.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
stevev0983
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎11-05-2005
Message 3 of 7 (6,173 Views)

Re: How to create a point where 2 lines intersect?

06-09-2011 05:19 AM in reply to: GeoSchaap

Use the "Apparent Intersect" osnap. It does exactly what you are looking for.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 7 (6,167 Views)

Re: How to create a point where 2 lines intersect?

06-09-2011 05:46 AM in reply to: GeoSchaap
The OP didn't mention that the lines were not coplanar. The POINT command followed by the INTERSECTION osnap will be enough if the lines do not have different Z's.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Contributor
GeoSchaap
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-02-2011
Message 5 of 7 (6,166 Views)

Re: How to create a point where 2 lines intersect?

06-09-2011 05:52 AM in reply to: pendean

not sure I got you 2. I can find the Intersection point by going to OSNAP, mark X in Apparent Intersection squre. but the APP typing result to nothing

Unknown command "APP".  Press F1 for help.


what am I doing wrong?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,494
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 7 (6,154 Views)

Re: How to create a point where 2 lines intersect?

06-09-2011 06:10 AM in reply to: GeoSchaap

I wrote:

"while in a command type APP to use it."

So start a command line POINT or LINE, type APP, pick your two line, and voila, you are at the intersection (if they intersect).

 

APP is not a standalone command (why did you type it as such), and cannot be used as a running Osnap (do not check the box).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
GeoSchaap
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-02-2011
Message 7 of 7 (6,149 Views)

Re: How to create a point where 2 lines intersect?

06-09-2011 06:26 AM in reply to: pendean

OK, worked, but now another broblem:

 

Why the intersection points is not exactly the intersection? do you see the tiny gap?

sch.jpg

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.