AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
jpw777
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-05-2010
Message 1 of 11 (8,167 Views)
Accepted Solution

HOW TO CREATE A MASK ? WITHOUT USING WIPEOUT COMAND

8167 Views, 10 Replies
11-05-2010 12:49 AM

Hi i want to put some line drawn furniture in my plans but i dont want the tiled floor to show through. As im constantly moving the furniture i can not  keep trimming the tiles out of the objects...is there a better way than using the wipeout command as this is so inaccurate and messes other stuff up.

 

Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 449
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 2 of 11 (8,160 Views)

Re: HOW TO CREATE A MASK ? WITHOUT USING WIPEOUT COMAND

11-05-2010 02:17 AM in reply to: jpw777

Are you drawing in 2D or 3D?  Is your furniture 2d lines or 3D solids?

 

dave

 

*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 1,025
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 3 of 11 (8,148 Views)

Re: HOW TO CREATE A MASK ? WITHOUT USING WIPEOUT COMAND

11-05-2010 04:02 AM in reply to: jpw777

Two solutions:

1. Edit each furniture blocks, in the block editor, create an polyline along the outline, then convert it to a wipeout. Send the wipeout to the back of all other objects in a block. Ensure all tiling hatch is in the background.

2. Ensure each furniture block has a polyline as its outline. Create tiling hatch in the room with "Associated" option selected. When you move the furniture block, the hatch will be updated automatically (old AutoCAD version doesn't has this feature).

 

3wood

CAD KITS

Mentor
AlistairBean1906
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Message 4 of 11 (8,147 Views)

Re: HOW TO CREATE A MASK ? WITHOUT USING WIPEOUT COMAND

11-05-2010 04:04 AM in reply to: jpw777

If you are doing 3D models then your solid model would hide this for you.

 

Since you have been exploring wipeouts then I suspect that you are drawing in 2D and there is a clever little twist you can apply to solid fill hatches.


Within the block of your furniture create a hatch of the area you want to mask out, the pattern should be solid fill, and within the block draworder it should be sent to the back. The real trick is in the colouring of this hatch, most users will use colour 255 which is basically white, but the important colour is the printing colour in either the CTB or STB file, you need that to be the same as your paper (255 for white).

 

Hope this helps

Mentor
AlistairBean1906
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Message 5 of 11 (8,143 Views)

Re: HOW TO CREATE A MASK ? WITHOUT USING WIPEOUT COMAND

11-05-2010 04:07 AM in reply to: AlistairBean1906

I meant to add that another advnantage of hatches over wipeouts here is that they can be a more complex shape since wipeout boundaries can't include arc segments (or at least they couldn't in the past).

Contributor
jpw777
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-05-2010
Message 6 of 11 (8,055 Views)

Re: HOW TO CREATE A MASK ? WITHOUT USING WIPEOUT COMAND

11-07-2010 03:31 PM in reply to: AlistairBean1906

hmm seem like a great solution with the hatch on 255 and i understand it but when i print, our 255 prints grey and i dont want to mess with our internal plot styles. can i duplicate 255 and edit it to print white(not white but mask)

Mentor
AlistairBean1906
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Message 7 of 11 (8,043 Views)

Re: HOW TO CREATE A MASK ? WITHOUT USING WIPEOUT COMAND

11-08-2010 01:12 AM in reply to: jpw777

I believe you will get a similar effect (or possibly better) if you use RGB colours from the True Colour Tab. set each to 255

 

Now the out put isn't controlled by the CTB or STB file only by the colour you selected.

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,878
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 8 of 11 (8,025 Views)

Re: HOW TO CREATE A MASK ? WITHOUT USING WIPEOUT COMAND

11-08-2010 09:11 AM in reply to: AlistairBean1906

True color 255, 255, 255 is what I use.  It works right out with CTBs but if I want to use it with STBs, I still need to set the Layer to Normal so I can get the white effect (STBs don't care what color the entities are otherwise).

Active Member
bnearl
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 9 of 11 (6,686 Views)

Re: HOW TO CREATE A MASK ? WITHOUT USING WIPEOUT COMAND

10-02-2012 03:38 PM in reply to: jpw777

Like 3wood was saying you could make the furnature a block reference then create the wipeout within the reference as part of the block. That way, when you translate the block to another part of the page, the wipeout moves with it.

Active Member
bnearl
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 10 of 11 (6,684 Views)

Re: HOW TO CREATE A MASK ? WITHOUT USING WIPEOUT COMAND

10-02-2012 03:41 PM in reply to: bnearl

I've done this with just today with all of my equipment tags in my drawings, due to not having enough empty space in the background beside my exhaust fans.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.