AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,360
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 5 (234 Views)

How to choose the attribute or field data from a list?

234 Views, 4 Replies
03-28-2012 03:25 PM

How to choose the attribute or field data from a list?

 

When using the “title block”, attributes and fields to better control the information that belongs to the drawing, then it worth to have a feature that allows selecting this information from a LIST.

 

For example, if we need to specify “location” of the project, then it is better to have sort of list from which we can select the location of the project the same we do it in the Excel (as shown in the screenshot below).

 

Is there such feature in the AutoCAD? To choose the information from a list?

 

Thank you for the help,

 

Best

 

Jamal

 

Clip_690.jpg

 

Clip_691.jpg

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,698
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (233 Views)

Re: How to choose the attribute or field data from a list?

03-28-2012 03:27 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060
What "location" would that be?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,360
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 3 of 5 (228 Views)

Re: How to choose the attribute or field data from a list?

03-28-2012 04:00 PM in reply to: pendean

Many thanks,

 

The “location” is just an example!

 

What I wanted to say is whether the AutoCAD has the feature that allows us to choose some values from a list.

For example, if the “location” values are limited to Ramallah, Jericho and Hebron, then how could we choose these values from a drop down menu as shown in the screenshot of the Excel above?

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,893
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 4 of 5 (213 Views)

Re: How to choose the attribute or field data from a list?

03-29-2012 05:10 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

For your specific example: Create a dynamic block with 3 visibility states, set each of your location visible in one state and invisible in the others.  They should just be text or mtext and not an attribute.  Now you have a block with a dropdown that only allow a list of 3 locations to pick from.

Not worth you time in my opinion.

Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,360
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 5 of 5 (189 Views)

Re: How to choose the attribute or field data from a list?

04-05-2012 04:02 PM in reply to: ToanDN

many thanks guys for the help.

 

best

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.