AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,360
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 4 (328 Views)

How to avoid the conflict between the “attribute” values?

328 Views, 3 Replies
02-29-2012 11:28 AM

How to avoid the conflict between the “attribute” values?

  1. I wanted to label the points (stored in txt file) using the lisp file ascpoint.lsp (as advised by Vlidamir);
  2. This requires to build a block with 4 attribute values,
  3. But how to ensure that there is no conflict between the labels of the coordinates represented in the 4 attributes? They may overlap depending on the number of characters of the value of each attribute (coordinate).

Thank you for the help,

Best

Jamal

 

Clip_369.jpg

 

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
Valued Contributor
Neil47
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 2 of 4 (310 Views)

Re: How to avoid the conflict between the “attribute” values?

03-01-2012 07:21 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

After you define the first attribute set subsequent ones to align below previous attribute definition

 

AttDef.JPG

 

If you have already created the block use BEDIT to change the positions of the attributes and then ATTSYNC to update blocks already inserted into the drawing.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,407
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 4 (302 Views)

Re: How to avoid the conflict between the “attribute” values?

03-01-2012 12:39 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Hi,

 

>> How to avoid the conflict between the “attribute” values?

Why not arranging the attribute-definitions vertically instead of horizontal?

 

AutoCAD does not have a function for automatic repositioning of text-objects if they overlap (as long as you don't use Map3D and it's GIS-functionality). So it's up to you to define the block in a way that is needed and useful. AutoCAD does with blocks and attributes nothing else then putting the block to the modelspace (or paperspace) and the text-content you put in to the attribute-values is written to the position where you defined the attributes within a block.

 

You have an option to select the block and use the grips to reposition the attributes, but it's a job to be made by hand (as long as you don't write applications for AutoCAD).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,360
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 4 of 4 (291 Views)

Re: How to avoid the conflict between the “attribute” values?

03-01-2012 03:06 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thank you guys for the contribution. This is very useful.

 

Best

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!