AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
GoranKLensmeden
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-08-2012
Message 1 of 4 (226 Views)
Accepted Solution

How save a layer so it won´t be editable in the copy?

226 Views, 3 Replies
07-08-2012 11:10 PM

I work in a multi-layer map, which I want to make a copy of. At the moment my background map (x-ref in layer 0) is editable/possible to unlock, but I don´t want it to be in my copy. Basically, I just want it to use it as a background picture in my new map.

 

Thankful for all hints! / Göran

No way in AutoCAD alone.  If you really want this, you must use something like CADlock.  You can make your background into a pdf and attach that but it won't be a drawing anymore.


dbroad wrote:

You can make your background into a pdf and attach that but it won't be a drawing anymore.


But you could also plot that background out as a DWF and underlay that.  It also won't be an editable drawing file anymore but will respond like one more than a PDF will.

 

Dave.

*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,648
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 2 of 4 (215 Views)

Re: How save a layer so it won´t be editable in the copy?

07-09-2012 05:25 AM in reply to: GoranKLensmeden

No way in AutoCAD alone.  If you really want this, you must use something like CADlock.  You can make your background into a pdf and attach that but it won't be a drawing anymore.

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 3 of 4 (194 Views)

Re: How save a layer so it won´t be editable in the copy?

07-09-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: dbroad

dbroad wrote:

You can make your background into a pdf and attach that but it won't be a drawing anymore.


But you could also plot that background out as a DWF and underlay that.  It also won't be an editable drawing file anymore but will respond like one more than a PDF will.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Active Member
GoranKLensmeden
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-08-2012
Message 4 of 4 (173 Views)

Re: How save a layer so it won´t be editable in the copy?

07-09-2012 10:49 PM in reply to: GoranKLensmeden

Thanks for the quick replies! I think it´ll work, now.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.