AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
mkirby
Posts: 327
Registered: ‎04-12-2006
Message 1 of 20 (5,190 Views)

How do I turn this ribbon off

5190 Views, 19 Replies
06-18-2009 08:29 AM
I feel I am pretty open minded but I have wasted enough time trying to adapt to this ribbon.

How do I close the ribbon and revert back to autocad 2009 Icons?

I know ribbonclose will close the ribbon but then what do you do to get all the icons back? Thanks.
*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,634
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 2 of 20 (5,190 Views)

Re: How do I turn this ribbon off

06-18-2009 08:41 AM in reply to: mkirby
in workspaces, pick the Classic choice. The workspace icon looks like a little gear, mine is at the bottom right of my screen.

I too gave the ribbon a shot, but out of the box it is worthless, and the CUI just doesn't work. Modifications don't stick, program crashes more after editing the CUI and while using the Ribbon. DOA
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Distinguished Contributor
mkirby
Posts: 327
Registered: ‎04-12-2006
Message 3 of 20 (5,190 Views)

Re: How do I turn this ribbon off

06-18-2009 09:00 AM in reply to: mkirby
Thank you very much.
*Rick Moore
Message 4 of 20 (5,190 Views)

Re: How do I turn this ribbon off

06-18-2009 09:02 AM in reply to: mkirby
My CUI worked just fine

--
Rick Moore, AIA
www.bgkarchitects.com


wrote in message news:6204304@discussion.autodesk.com...
in workspaces, pick the Classic choice. The workspace icon looks like a
little gear, mine is at the bottom right of my screen. I too gave the ribbon
a shot, but out of the box it is worthless, and the CUI just doesn't work.
Modifications don't stick, program crashes more after editing the CUI and
while using the Ribbon. DOA
*Mark McDonough
Message 5 of 20 (5,190 Views)

Re: How do I turn this ribbon off

06-18-2009 10:35 AM in reply to: mkirby
I certainly plan on putting it to the test. In AutoCAD 2008, I have
recorded 8 nasty irritating bugs with the %^&*$! CUI, all of which can be
replicated. If I were a betting man, I'd bet that some of these bugs still
exist in 2010, as time and time again through the many AutoCAD versions, I
have seen bugs carried forward through one or more releases.

--
Mark McDonough
Sasaki Associates
http://www.sasaki.com


"Rick Moore" wrote in message
news:6204334@discussion.autodesk.com...
My CUI worked just fine

--
Rick Moore, AIA
www.bgkarchitects.com


wrote in message news:6204304@discussion.autodesk.com...
in workspaces, pick the Classic choice. The workspace icon looks like a
little gear, mine is at the bottom right of my screen. I too gave the ribbon
a shot, but out of the box it is worthless, and the CUI just doesn't work.
Modifications don't stick, program crashes more after editing the CUI and
while using the Ribbon. DOA
Distinguished Contributor
moecad
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎10-01-2008
Message 6 of 20 (5,190 Views)

Re: How do I turn this ribbon off

06-18-2009 12:29 PM in reply to: mkirby
I just loaded 2010 and now I have to live with it since it made the toolbars in 2008 non-working. I also think the ribbons are useless, why have a toolbar that doesn't show all the buttons when you can have a toolbar that does?

First you need to click on tools as it says in the help menu. What? Don't see tools and the help menu doesn't tell you where it is? surprise surprise, the help menu isn't much help. Type in MENUBAR and change it from 0 to 1. You should now see the tools drop-down at the top that help should have told you about. Now hit tools>toolbars>autocad and you should be able to get your first toolbar onscreen from the cui file that you hopefully already have loaded. Once you have a toolbar on screen you can right click it like in old versions and get the rest of the toolbars on screen. From here it works like old versions, put them where you want.

I have been afraid to modify or even try to modify a cui since it will probably just cause problems. Luckily I had one and it is pointed to it in options. Point to it in options>files>customization files or you can try CUILOAD if you haven't already before doing the above.

I am guessing that it will be next century or never (whichever comes last) before they make toolbar customization simple again (if it ever was)

Have I mentioned yet today how much I hate Autodesk?
*Dave Jones
Message 7 of 20 (5,190 Views)

Re: How do I turn this ribbon off

06-18-2009 01:49 PM in reply to: mkirby
moeCAD wrote:
> I just loaded 2010 and now I have to live with it since it made the
> toolbars in 2008 non-working. I also think the ribbons are useless, why
> have a toolbar that doesn't show all the buttons when you can have a
> toolbar that does? First you need to click on tools as it says in the
> help menu. What? Don't see tools and the help menu doesn't tell you
> where it is? surprise surprise, the help menu isn't much help. Type in
> MENUBAR and change it from 0 to 1. You should now see the tools
> drop-down at the top that help should have told you about. Now hit
> tools>toolbars>autocad and you should be able to get your first toolbar
> onscreen from the cui file that you hopefully already have loaded. Once
> you have a toolbar on screen you can right click it like in old versions
> and get the rest of the toolbars on screen. From here it works like old
> versions, put them where you want. I have been afraid to modify or even
> try to modify a cui since it will probably just cause problems. Luckily
> I had one and it is pointed to it in options. Point to it in
> options>files>customization files or you can try CUILOAD if you haven't
> already before doing the above. I am guessing that it will be next
> century or never (whichever comes last) before they make toolbar
> customization simple again (if it ever was) Have I mentioned yet today
> how much I hate Autodesk?

WORKSPACE, set to AutoCAD Classic
Valued Mentor
jmcintyre
Posts: 647
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 8 of 20 (5,190 Views)

Re: How do I turn this ribbon off

06-18-2009 03:44 PM in reply to: mkirby
EYECANDYOFF
USELESSNEWFEATUREOFF
FRUITOFF
GOAWAYRIBBON

Sorry, I'm not much help when it comes to the ribbon.
New Member
ArchE_Andrew
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-25-2010
Message 9 of 20 (5,190 Views)

Re: How do I turn this ribbon off

04-25-2010 09:15 AM in reply to: mkirby
I realize this was an old post, but for those still wondering, I've been able to turn off the ribbon and turn on the classic acad menubar in Autocad 2010 and Autocad MEP 2010:

- Type "menubar"
- Options are (0) or (1). Type "1" (this may say "No menus are defined." If you get this message, type "menu" and select "acad" in the pop up windows explorer. If you don't get this message, then you will see the classic toolbars)
- You will still see the ribbon, so type "ribbonclose"

This will close your ribbon and add the classic toolbars

ArchE_Andrew
Distinguished Contributor
ChrisCAD27
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
Message 10 of 20 (5,190 Views)

Re: How do I turn this ribbon off

04-26-2010 01:38 PM in reply to: mkirby
No one likes the ribbons for Office 2007 for the same reason no one likes the ribbons in AutoCAD 2009 - no one asked for a ribbon!

OK, so some people might like it, but I don't remember people ever asking for ribbons, although I do remember people asking for a bug-free CUI.

As for rolling bugs over release to release, and adding features created by people who don't actually use the software, the reason for this is simple: they have to give use some kind of reason to pay $5000/year for the subscription.

...and if they don't have time to work all the bugs out of a release, they certainly won't have enough time for a proper Help menu. See: Land Desktop Companion 2008.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.