AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
tammyh2o
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-18-2014
Message 1 of 7 (427 Views)
Accepted Solution

How can I transfer the licence to my new computer?

427 Views, 6 Replies
03-18-2014 12:17 PM

I lost my computer a few years ago, and had autocad on it.  I can't find the disc.  Is tehre any way to transfer my old licence and progem to a new computer with the original computer gone?  Or do I have to buy it all over again????

Hi,

 

have you informed Autodesk about the loss of your old pc?

If not I guess it will be complicated as at least it's hard to beleive someone asks for a renewal of a license some years after the activation.

And there might be the next problem that whoever "found" your lost workstation might have used that license.

 

Another question: have you had an insurance? If so they should have to pay the license costs.

 

At least, if you have a serial number contact your reseller or Autodesk, describe the situation and hopefully there is a chance.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

Hi,

 

>> If I cannot recover my old license, are they transferable?

If you have your license (the computer on which it's installed) then there is a transfer utility installed, but if you don't have the source you don't have anything to transfer.

You need at least the serial number, without that I guess the chance is not really good.

 

>> There is a seller online that is offering to sell the program and transfer his license, but I'm not sure if such a thing is OK.  Any thoughts?

You'll need Autodesk, only they can give you (and the one who wants to sell his license) an OK for transfering. Without that OK you are never sure to get an activation code or if the sold software is legal or not.

 

- alfred -

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,071
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 7 (424 Views)

Re: How can I transfer the licence to my new computer?

03-18-2014 12:26 PM in reply to: tammyh2o

Hi,

 

have you informed Autodesk about the loss of your old pc?

If not I guess it will be complicated as at least it's hard to beleive someone asks for a renewal of a license some years after the activation.

And there might be the next problem that whoever "found" your lost workstation might have used that license.

 

Another question: have you had an insurance? If so they should have to pay the license costs.

 

At least, if you have a serial number contact your reseller or Autodesk, describe the situation and hopefully there is a chance.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
tammyh2o
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-18-2014
Message 3 of 7 (419 Views)

Re: How can I transfer the licence to my new computer?

03-18-2014 12:36 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Basically, long story short, I went out of business and didn't care at the time.  I have done little drafting since then and thus no need for the program, until now.  I have a few small projects that I need to do a quick map to detail the parcel.

 

If I cannot recover my old license, are they transferable?  There is a seller online that is offering to sell the program and transfer his license, but I'm not sure if such a thing is OK.  Any thoughts?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,071
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 7 (407 Views)

Re: How can I transfer the licence to my new computer?

03-18-2014 12:49 PM in reply to: tammyh2o

Hi,

 

>> If I cannot recover my old license, are they transferable?

If you have your license (the computer on which it's installed) then there is a transfer utility installed, but if you don't have the source you don't have anything to transfer.

You need at least the serial number, without that I guess the chance is not really good.

 

>> There is a seller online that is offering to sell the program and transfer his license, but I'm not sure if such a thing is OK.  Any thoughts?

You'll need Autodesk, only they can give you (and the one who wants to sell his license) an OK for transfering. Without that OK you are never sure to get an activation code or if the sold software is legal or not.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,367
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 5 of 7 (403 Views)

Re: How can I transfer the licence to my new computer?

03-18-2014 12:58 PM in reply to: tammyh2o

If you went out of business, and the license was registered to the business ie. business asset, its more than likely considered gone as well.  If the license was issued to you personally, and you still have your relevant contract information, you *might* be able to get an activation.  Depending on how old the version is, getting it to run on a modern operating system might make the whole point moot.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Member
tammyh2o
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-18-2014
Message 6 of 7 (401 Views)

Re: How can I transfer the licence to my new computer?

03-18-2014 01:15 PM in reply to: dgorsman

Thanks everyone for the information.  

 

Licensing freaks me out, and as a small business, I cannot risk doing it wrong.

 

I think I'm going to try the LT version since I only use it for parcel maps, and I think the LT is good enough.  I will try the trial version to confirm I guess, and then just go with the more affordable program if it can do all I need it to do.  It is only a few hundred more than the "resale" full versions online and the peace of mind from buying direct is worth it.

 

Thanks again.

Distinguished Contributor
justshutup
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎10-03-2013
Message 7 of 7 (347 Views)

Re: How can I transfer the licence to my new computer?

03-21-2014 02:43 PM in reply to: tammyh2o

Or check out Draftsight.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.