AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
Teamcustomcraft
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
Message 1 of 9 (818 Views)
Accepted Solution

Having publishing issues with new computer.

818 Views, 8 Replies
05-11-2011 02:23 PM

I'm sure this is some sort of migration issue.  I just upgraded to Windows 7 and a new machine.

 

I copied my pc3 file over to the new computer and was able to plot, but cannot publish.  I hit the publish button and it looks like it's working, but nothing ever goes to the printer, no error, no nothing.

 

So I just created a new pc3, and now I can publish drawings if I change the page setup to the new printer I added.  But now I can't publish those drawings from other computers in the office.

 

What am I doing wrong here?

 

I checked all my settings against other computers in the office and they look identical.  Ports, Printer Name, PC3 file name.

 

This was working previous to me upgrading my computer.

PC3 files are different for each operating system and are not shareable among computers with different setups. You must maintain separate PC3 files for each system.

So... if you creater a new PC3 file for this one PC, PUBLISH works?

 

I am curious how PLOT works but PUBLISH does not: that normally has a lot to do with the wrong pagesetup being chosen in PUBLISH than anything else.

Contributor
Teamcustomcraft
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
Message 2 of 9 (812 Views)

Re: Having publishing issues with new computer.

05-11-2011 02:55 PM in reply to: Teamcustomcraft

I decided to detach the pmp file and then tried to attach a new one.

 

I crash every time.  "autodesk hardcopy component has stopped working".

 

So now I cannot even attach a pmp file.

 

Today has been a nightmare!

Contributor
Teamcustomcraft
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
Message 3 of 9 (804 Views)

Re: Having publishing issues with new computer.

05-11-2011 03:18 PM in reply to: Teamcustomcraft

How do I get sync'd back up with the other computers in the office?....is what I really want to know.

*Expert Elite*
M_Hensley
Posts: 1,731
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 4 of 9 (771 Views)

Re: Having publishing issues with new computer.

05-12-2011 03:22 AM in reply to: Teamcustomcraft

PC3 files are different for each operating system and are not shareable among computers with different setups. You must maintain separate PC3 files for each system.

Contributor
Teamcustomcraft
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
Message 5 of 9 (762 Views)

Re: Having publishing issues with new computer.

05-12-2011 07:29 AM in reply to: Teamcustomcraft

Thanks for your response.

Ok, I think I get that.  Maybe I chose the wrong wording.

 

I did a clean install of Windows 7 and reinstalled AutoCAD 2010.  Before this the 2 CAD computers were able to PUBLISH drawings.  I could create a drawing and the on one computer and publish it on the other computer.  I backed up my support folder prior to upgrading.  I put my PC3 file from my old configuration in to my new one.  I can no longer publish any drawing on the new computer.  Also, any drawing I create cannot be published on the other computer.  I thought I could work around the issue for a while until I found a real solution by having my coworker publish my drawings, but it doesn't work.

 

How do I get it back so I can publish drawings?

 

I can use the PLOT command and it works great, one drawing, one page at a time.  I'd like to be able to PUBLISH multiple drawings and multiple pages.

 

All my settings look fine....but I must be missing something.

Contributor
Teamcustomcraft
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
Message 6 of 9 (759 Views)

Re: Having publishing issues with new computer.

05-12-2011 07:50 AM in reply to: Teamcustomcraft

One computer is Windows 7, the other is XP.

 

When I look at the drivers details on each computer I notice one difference.

 

W7 System says, Model: Ricoh 2035 PCL6

XP System says, Model: RICOH 2035 PCL 6

 

Would the all caps and the extra space make a difference?

 

I don't think there's a way to change the model in the driver....is there?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,705
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 9 (756 Views)

Re: Having publishing issues with new computer.

05-12-2011 08:12 AM in reply to: Teamcustomcraft

So... if you creater a new PC3 file for this one PC, PUBLISH works?

 

I am curious how PLOT works but PUBLISH does not: that normally has a lot to do with the wrong pagesetup being chosen in PUBLISH than anything else.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
Teamcustomcraft
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
Message 8 of 9 (754 Views)

Re: Having publishing issues with new computer.

05-12-2011 08:35 AM in reply to: pendean

Correct....I think.

 

In order to publish on the new computer I have to go in to page setup manager, modify the current page setup, then select my default printer set up, save a new PC3.  

 

I have to do this with every drawing that I open.  This allows me to publish.

 

The downside of doing this.....The XP computer will not publish any of the drawings I do this to.

Contributor
Teamcustomcraft
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
Message 9 of 9 (737 Views)

Re: Having publishing issues with new computer.

05-13-2011 03:00 PM in reply to: Teamcustomcraft

I'm about 90% sure that this is a driver issue.....and the differences between XP and W7x64.  The printer models are named just a little different.  

 

Since creating a new PC3 I am able to PUBLISH and PLOT on the new computer, I just can't PUBLISH those drawings on the XP computer....and vice versa.


I'm thinking about trying to edit the .ini file for the driver on the XP system with the same model name the W7x64 driver has, and reinstall it....maybe it will work....or maybe I'll dig myself a little deeper.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.