AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
chris
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
Message 11 of 20 (403 Views)

Re: Have to reload SteelPLUS every time I restart AC2012

08-08-2011 02:54 PM in reply to: Patchy

I checked both and the .mns and .mnl files are exactly the same.  I just don't know where else to look.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,665
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 12 of 20 (399 Views)

Re: Have to reload SteelPLUS every time I restart AC2012

08-08-2011 04:03 PM in reply to: chris

Is your 3rd party menu file and it's many support files in the AutoCAD search path? where exactly, be specific about the file's location and it's listing in the AutoCAD Search path list.

If it's an MNS file, R2012 is creating a converted CUIx file to use instead, where is that file being created? Is that location in the AutoCAD search path?

 

Are you truly using plain AutoCAD 2012, or as vertical running "as AutoCAD"? The latter, as well as some progressive plain AutoCAD users, load a predefined PROFILE as part of a startup to avoid changes (and it can remove changes). Could that be your issue too, an external predefined PROFILE is being called at startup?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
chris
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
Message 13 of 20 (382 Views)

Re: Have to reload SteelPLUS every time I restart AC2012

08-09-2011 05:05 AM in reply to: pendean

C:\stlplus\vr2000 located in the support file search path below ac2012 support, fonts, help, express, color, my blocks.

 

I did find a .cuix in the listing and chose that to no avail.  Still won't reload when I open.

 

We do use profiles, but I'm not all that tech savvy, so I'm not sure what everything in the 3rd paragraph represents.  Please be patient with me.  How would I go about changing the profile so it will add the steelplus to the startup?  Or do I have to start a completely new profile from scratch and recreate everything I've customized? 

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 14 of 20 (380 Views)

Re: Have to reload SteelPLUS every time I restart AC2012

08-09-2011 05:27 AM in reply to: chris

Not knowing what all needs to be loaded to make that thing work, my first suggestion is to go to http://softdraft.info/support/

 

The knowledge base has some topics on menu/toolbar trouble, or maybe the troubleshooter will be of some use?

Active Member
chris
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
Message 15 of 20 (365 Views)

Re: Have to reload SteelPLUS every time I restart AC2012

08-09-2011 07:23 AM in reply to: nestly

there is nothing in their knowledge base that even hints what i'm going through.  thank you for the suggestion, though.

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 16 of 20 (360 Views)

Re: Have to reload SteelPLUS every time I restart AC2012

08-09-2011 08:29 AM in reply to: chris

Have you tried re-installing SteePlus after you repaired AutoCAD?  "Repair" can definitely wipe out customization, particurally if the customizations were made to the main acad.cuix.  Have you tried contacting SoftDraft either through thier support "ticket" system, or by the phone number on the "Contact us" page?  I think they'll know best how to fix installation problems.

 

I'm no expert on this, but I do manually transfer files between 3 computers so the AutoCAD interface is identical on all 3. And the Express Tools menu is the only thing that seems to need any special attention.

 

Basically, I copy acad.cuix, custom.cuix, custom.mnr, and the "Profiles" folder from C:\Documents and Settings\nestly\Application Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2011\R18.1\enu\Support  on the source computer to the same folder on the target computer.  Assuming the folder structure is the same on the target and the source computers, (which it won't be when transfering between WinXP and Win7) that's all I have to do.... EXCEPT, for some reason the Express Tools does not show up in the menu bar until I MENULOAD custom.mnr.

 

I would copy SteelPlus.mnr (mns, mnl or whatever) from one of the working machines into the same support folder as your acad.cuix.   Your main AutoCAD support folder should be one of the following:

WinXP - C:\Documents and Settings\chris\Application Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012\R18.2\enu\Support

Win7 - C:\Users\chris\AppData\Roaming\\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012\R18.2\enu\Support 

 

Next, MENULOAD steelplus.mns, then go into the CUI and make sure custom.cuix and steelplux.cuix (if present) are loaded as partial cuix's.  Apply and Exit the CUI, Then save the workspace (WSSAVE) and restart to see if it stuck.

New Member
brbowen
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2007
Message 17 of 20 (343 Views)

Re: Have to reload SteelPLUS every time I restart AC2012

08-09-2011 05:23 PM in reply to: chris

Chris, send an email to support@softdraft.com and we can email a solution.

Active Member
chris
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
Message 18 of 20 (334 Views)

Re: Have to reload SteelPLUS every time I restart AC2012

08-10-2011 12:10 PM in reply to: brbowen

I just want to let everyone know that it was an issue with the SteelPLUS software.  There was a glitch in the older software that they worked through with me.  Thanks for all the suggestions.  I appreciate those that tried to help me.

Active Member
rcdet
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 19 of 20 (270 Views)

Re: Have to reload SteelPLUS every time I restart AC2012

10-31-2011 09:50 AM in reply to: chris

i have this same problem with AutoSD. what did Barry Do to fix this?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,665
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 20 of 20 (259 Views)

Re: Have to reload SteelPLUS every time I restart AC2012

10-31-2011 10:57 AM in reply to: chris
See your other post
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.