AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
MitchTurnbuckle
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-01-2013
Message 1 of 4 (180 Views)

Hatch Idling/FreezingFailing

180 Views, 3 Replies
02-01-2013 10:21 AM

Hello,

I have been having issues literally everytime I use the boundary hatch, or hatch functions.  AutoCAD (2011) slows to a crawl and/or freezes, first when I actually click the dialog box to pick points and

second after the area is selected before the hatch is filled.  This can last for 5-10 seconds, or 5 minutes, or indefinitely (the duration seems fairly random).

I can understand it taking a moment to make calculations, but it says not responding in the document title banner at the top of the screen and if I try and click the window turns white.  These are NOT complicated hatch patterns or boundaries, just floor safety markings and such.

I have tried many avenues to try and remedy this situation including adjusting the performance of the Quadro FX 1500, to turning off all layers except the one I am hatching, etc., etc.. 

 

If all the layers are off it gets a little better, but still responds extremely sluggishly even with only 4 lines visible on the whole screen (for example). 

 

Workstation has a Core 2 Duo 6700 @ 2.66 GHz 6 gigabytes of DDR2 RAM and the aforementioned GPU.  

Is the Processor not fast enough?

Is the drawing too large (100+ layers)?

Am I missing something?

 

Thanks in advance!

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,254
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 4 (179 Views)

Re: Hatch Idling/FreezingFailing

02-01-2013 10:25 AM in reply to: MitchTurnbuckle

ID or list the area that you want to apply hatch, is it far away from 0,0,0  ?

New Member
MitchTurnbuckle
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-01-2013
Message 3 of 4 (172 Views)

Hello,Re: Hatch Idling/FreezingFailing

02-01-2013 10:58 AM in reply to: Patchy

Hello,

 

Thanks for the quick response. 

 

Yes it is quite far away.  These drawings were originally done by someone else, who did not start at 0,0.  The area where the actual drawing objects are is around X250', Y2600'. 

 

Is this causing the problem? 

... and if so, why?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,254
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 4 (169 Views)

Re: Hello,Re: Hatch Idling/FreezingFailing

02-01-2013 11:02 AM in reply to: MitchTurnbuckle

Limitation of calculation :smileysad:

Click on the icon "CLICK TO SET NEW ORIGIN" and click in the area to hatch and see if it'll work.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.