AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Got2know
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 1 of 10 (2,252 Views)

HATCH files

2252 Views, 9 Replies
01-14-2011 03:45 PM

Could anyone tell me where the Hatch files are located. A user in my group is having trouble with his HATCH command. It doesn't seem to be working and it keeps telling him that the format files do not support his hatch or something like that.

 

thanks

GTK

Valued Mentor
wengle
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 2 of 10 (2,224 Views)

Re: HATCH files

01-14-2011 07:56 PM in reply to: Got2know

Hatch files have the extension .pat, i.e., acad.pat. Program files\Documents & settings\administrator\application data\autodesk\autocad 2010\R18.0\enu\support. If the user can't find this file, suggest repair via control panel.

*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,798
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 3 of 10 (2,090 Views)

Re: HATCH files

01-17-2011 05:44 AM in reply to: wengle

To find where AutoCAD is using the hatch files, enter the following on your command prompt exactly as you see it here:  (findfile "acad.pat") or, if you are creating metric drawings:  (findfile "acadiso.pat")

Distinguished Contributor
Got2know
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 4 of 10 (2,074 Views)

Re: HATCH files

01-17-2011 11:37 AM in reply to: Got2know

So we found the files and they seem unchanged. We also did a repair for the program. And he is still having the problem with Hatch . Anyone have any other ideas.

*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 5 of 10 (2,071 Views)

Re: HATCH files

01-17-2011 11:42 AM in reply to: Got2know

It sounds to me like your user is trying to edit in some way, a custom hatch which is not included in his or her list of .pat files. If so, then have the originator of the hatch send along the custom .pat file so your user can include it in their support file location. This is usually a separate .pat file for just that one hatch...

I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,798
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 6 of 10 (2,070 Views)

Re: HATCH files

01-17-2011 11:42 AM in reply to: Got2know

You may want to check into the MEASUREMENT system variable.  This variable controls which .PAT file he is using.  If he is creating an imperial/architectural drawing, make sure MEASUREMENT is set to 0 (zero) which uses the ACAD.pat file.  If the drawing is to be metric, then MEASUREMENT should be set to 1 which uses the ACADISO.pat file.

 

Another trick is to enter the following code exactly as seen here: (setenv "MaxHatch" "100000") (<--just copy and paste this to your command prompt)

Distinguished Contributor
Got2know
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 7 of 10 (2,068 Views)

Re: HATCH files

01-17-2011 11:45 AM in reply to: murray-clack

My user cannot even use his hatch to create a new one. When he types HATCH or BHATCH, no dialogue box appears as in my system.

*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,798
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 8 of 10 (2,066 Views)

Re: HATCH files

01-17-2011 11:47 AM in reply to: Got2know

No dialog?  Is this true for every AutoCAD command that uses a dialog box?  If so, try setting CMDDIA to 1

*Expert Elite*
M_Hensley
Posts: 1,697
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 9 of 10 (2,061 Views)

Re: HATCH files

01-17-2011 12:17 PM in reply to: Got2know

Could be that the dialog is showing up off the screen. Hold down ALT + SPACE + M then hit one of the arrow keys. Now wiggle your mouse and the dialog should be attached to the cursor. (Make sure to select something in the dialog and pick OK to dismiss it so it saves the new location.)

Member
slartiblartfast
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-06-2012
Message 10 of 10 (1,179 Views)

Re: HATCH files

07-06-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: Got2know

I have a similar problem perhaps someone can help me with. I managed to find the .pat files in the 2010 release and, using Help, I was able to find a way to drag and drop hatch patterns into a drawing. Apparently this has to be done one pattern at a time and repeated for each area to be hatched, and the patterns are not 'stored' in any directory or folder for insertion into other plans. Is there any way I can locate the appropriate folder or cache and transfer my patterns directly into ACAD 2010?

 

Our office often uses patterns provided by various architectural material manufacturers and in previously releases these patterns would be listed as Custom patterns in the Hatch and Gradient drop down menu. Any suggestions or recommendations will be appreciated.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.