AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
hmsuunnittelu
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 1 of 11 (5,515 Views)
Accepted Solution

Grid in layout view

5515 Views, 10 Replies
05-21-2010 06:00 AM
I received a drawing that has a layout with multiple mviews in it. There is a light grey grid showing in the layout, that I can't make disappear. Grid on / off command has no effect. Really it doesn't matter if the grid is showing, but it's so annoying! Creating a new layout would fix the problem, but is there an easier way to get rid of the grid?

Double-click inside the viewport to make it active, and then press F7.

 

Any change?

 

Regards,

Silvia

 

Silvia Menon

Autodesk Product Support

*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 11 (5,515 Views)

Re: Grid in layout view

05-21-2010 06:09 AM in reply to: hmsuunnittelu
AUDIT or RECOVER commands to fix the file, see if that helps, or use SAVEAS
to create a new file, delete all private info and post the DWG file here.

Or just create a new layout as you noted.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 3 of 11 (5,515 Views)

Re: Grid in layout view

05-21-2010 07:10 AM in reply to: hmsuunnittelu
...or write the whole thing off as a block. Or create a new drawning and copybase the entire contents of old into new...
I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,604
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 4 of 11 (5,515 Views)

Re: Grid in layout view

05-21-2010 07:13 AM in reply to: hmsuunnittelu
Make that VP current and then turn grid off.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Contributor
hmsuunnittelu
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 5 of 11 (5,496 Views)

Re: Grid in layout view

06-22-2010 03:32 AM in reply to: GrantsPirate

Last time I just ended up creating a new layout, but this problem seems to come up repeatedly. It seems that if the layout has been created with the grid on in the model space, it will also show in the layout.

 

I don't know how to "make the VP current and then turn grid off", so further advice would be welcome.

 

Other suggestions would also be appreciated.

Valued Contributor
nikolap
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎11-23-2003
Message 6 of 11 (5,476 Views)

Re: Grid in layout view

06-22-2010 10:37 AM in reply to: hmsuunnittelu
Old school, no ribbon: Tools -> Drafting Settings -> Snap and Greed -> Greed style: uncheck Sheet/layout and, of course, press F7 for greed On/Off
Contributor
hmsuunnittelu
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 7 of 11 (5,449 Views)

Re: Grid in layout view

06-23-2010 12:12 AM in reply to: nikolap

Changing drafting settings has no effect on the problem...

Product Support
Silvia.Menon
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎06-11-2007
Message 8 of 11 (5,441 Views)

Re: Grid in layout view

06-23-2010 01:22 AM in reply to: hmsuunnittelu

Double-click inside the viewport to make it active, and then press F7.

 

Any change?

 

Regards,

Silvia

 

Silvia Menon

Autodesk Product Support

Contributor
hmsuunnittelu
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 9 of 11 (5,437 Views)

Re: Grid in layout view

06-23-2010 01:35 AM in reply to: Silvia.Menon

Thank you so much! I don't know how I didn't think of something that simple.:smileyvery-happy:

New Member
eg07
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 10 of 11 (4,233 Views)

Re: Grid in layout view

10-24-2011 02:37 PM in reply to: hmsuunnittelu

Thanks a lot.. I was trying to figure out the same thing... your post was very helpfull!! 'Thumbs up'

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.