Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Get SCALE attribute then set it?

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
Anonymous
1015 Views, 10 Replies

Get SCALE attribute then set it?

Im a newbie to autocad and lisp in general.  What I want to be able to do is read the scale from a drawing as shown:

2222.png

Its also shown as an attribute when I run the command ddatte:

tree.png

I want to be able to read this number from lisp because sometimes the scale shown is not what is set in the command dimscale.  So I want to take this value and set it in dimscale (maybe using a script).  I found code on how to get attribute values but am not sure how to use it or call it here:

http://www.lee-mac.com/attributefunctions.html#al

Can someone please help me form the code for how to:

1)Get the scale attribute value

2)Take that scale attribute value and run the command dimscale taking the value from 1.

Or even if you can show me how to do one of these steps.

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
steve216586
in reply to: Anonymous

You can get that value by using a field. See attached.

"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent. "-Eleanor Roosevelt
Message 3 of 11
Anonymous
in reply to: steve216586

Hi Steve,

I guess I dont know how that is going to help me.  I need to grab this value dynamically and then set the dimscale based on this value.  I see the dialog you posted in your attached file but I dont know how to script out or lisp out this value?

Message 4 of 11
Anonymous

The issue I am having is I do see that it runs a command called _eattedit but it requires me to select a block...which then I can move the mouse and select a block.  But I want to automate this so that it selects the scale automatically without me haivng to select a block.  Isnt there a way to just get a scale value given a name or id ?

Message 5 of 11
steve216586

Ok, let's start over. Are you plotting from Paperspace? I hope so, otherwise this method won't work, because you need a viewport.