AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Mentor
KLYPHY
Posts: 391
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Message 1 of 6 (213 Views)

Fonts

213 Views, 5 Replies
02-20-2012 08:12 AM

Our Office just upgraded from AutoCAD 2007 to 2012.

We lost the font CG Omega along the way.

One of our staff found it on her computer and e-mailed it to me.

But instead of being one CG Omega.TTF, the e-mail broke it up into 4 separate TTFs.

They are:

CGOR45W, CGOR46W, CGOR65W, and CGOR66W.

I am hesitatant try these.

Why did that happen?

Any advice?

Read Ya Later -KLYPH

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 2 of 6 (205 Views)

Re: Fonts

02-20-2012 09:14 AM in reply to: KLYPHY

when I tried copying & pasting the font from my windows fonts directory, it pasted as 4 ttf flies with different names from what you posted.  from the "font settings" panel on the side, it takes me to a control panel page where I can reset default font settings - something about hiding fonts that aren't in my language.  Try resetting & seeing what happens.  I can't seem to take the font & zip it to attach :smileysad:


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,600
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 6 (199 Views)

Re: Fonts

02-20-2012 10:07 AM in reply to: KLYPHY

Many TTF fonts are multiple files: nothing new or unusual about it. Look at an FONTS folder in Windows through a DOS listing, you'll see behind the curtain what all is being masked.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Mentor
KLYPHY
Posts: 391
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Message 4 of 6 (196 Views)

Re: Fonts

02-20-2012 10:43 AM in reply to: pendean

One of the guys here knew to send it to the Windows Font folder as you mentioned.

Copying the four files proved difficul; at times, the Font folder was hiding.

And, we had to restart AutoCAD before the 4 files folded into one CG Omega.

I don't think I could do it again without help.

Thanks for your help -KLYPH

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,600
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 6 (192 Views)

Re: Fonts

02-20-2012 11:09 AM in reply to: KLYPHY

Installing Windows fonts is easy nd one-step when you know how. Explore this:

http://www.microsoft.com/typography/TrueTypeInstall.mspx

It helps if AutoCAD is not running at the time of he addition.

 

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Mentor
KLYPHY
Posts: 391
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Message 6 of 6 (174 Views)

Re: Fonts

02-21-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: pendean

Thanks for the link to the website.

However, I can't double click on a font that doesn't exist.

 

What I had to do was copy each of the four "CGOR45W..." files to my Desktop.

Then I could drag them to the Windows Font file, the one that kept "hiding" when I tried to copy them to it.

Then I had to reboot the computer.

Then CG Omega was a font.

 

Read Y'all Later -KLYPH

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.