AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
GilesPhillips
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 1 of 10 (346 Views)

F1 key now does nothing!

346 Views, 9 Replies
01-15-2013 07:18 AM

Been having ongoing issues with the online help dialogue, autocad's web access mechanism and our proxy server. The short story is that it doesn't work. I'd pretty much accepted the 2 minute delay whilst autocad prods the poxy server then grudgingly serves up the local help pages, only now it doesn't even do that. I'll get a pause/delay whilst something/nothing happens. then nothing actually happens, no exporer window, nothing.

 

It's happend on 2 systems I use, XP and window 7.

 

It's a long shot, but I don't suppose anyone else has seen this?

 

G

ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700
*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,626
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 2 of 10 (329 Views)

Re: F1 key now does nothing!

01-15-2013 12:37 PM in reply to: GilesPhillips

Mine wouldn't work due to security restrictions set by my IT group.  There is a 2012 web page for help, I will look for it unless someone else posts it first.

 

http://exchange.autodesk.com/autocad/enu/help

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Distinguished Contributor
GilesPhillips
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 3 of 10 (311 Views)

Re: F1 key now does nothing!

01-16-2013 12:44 AM in reply to: GrantsPirate

I've got  a support ticket open with autodesk, and the supplier of our proxy server for the whole web access thing, it's quite painful to be honest as everyone involved is saying their software works fine.

ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,656
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 10 (304 Views)

Re: F1 key now does nothing!

01-16-2013 05:52 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

How long does it take you, on one of those PCs, to open this link:

http://exchange.autodesk.com/autocad/enu/help

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
GilesPhillips
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 5 of 10 (299 Views)

Re: F1 key now does nothing!

01-16-2013 06:04 AM in reply to: pendean

Not really the point Dean.

 

What I'm trying to do is get the software to work as it is intended.

 

Would you buy a car, and find that the rear door doesn't open, and think "that's okay" because you can still reach across from the other side?

ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,656
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 10 (279 Views)

Re: F1 key now does nothing!

01-17-2013 06:10 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

Since that's all the program is doing, calling a website, you need to find out if it's a browser/internet IT restriction: and as a temporary solution you can map the F1 key to call the web link instead if there is no issue with a direct link.

 

But you don't seem to want to try any solution posted here by others, so I'm not sure of the purpose of your post other than a healthy rant. You forget, we all have R2012 and this feature works fine. Oh well, Enjoy your day.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
GilesPhillips
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 7 of 10 (273 Views)

Re: F1 key now does nothing!

01-17-2013 06:18 AM in reply to: pendean

pendean wrote:

But you don't seem to want to try any solution posted here by others, so I'm not sure of the purpose of your post other than a healthy rant. You forget, we all have R2012 and this feature works fine. Oh well, Enjoy your day.


Dean -It's not really a solution, more a work-around.  Show me a solution and I'll try it. 

 

The overriding issue is one of Autocad not referring to a wpad file for internet configuration- it rather hits the proxy direct and then sulks when it's not let through.  As I mentioned earlier in this thread Autodesk have a support ticket open and are working with our proxy server suppliers for a solution.

 

My original post was based on the new development of the help browser window not appearing at all, regardless of weather it is displaying the local help files or the online ones.

ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700
*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,175
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 8 of 10 (257 Views)

Re: F1 key now does nothing!

01-18-2013 05:41 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

I was going to suggest downloading the Offline help, but it no longer appears on the documentation page under Services and Support.  that..... bites. I didn't think that 2012 was considered officially abandonded:smileymad:

 

The PDF documentaiton is available, for what that's worth - but it's not Help.

 

Your best bet would be to request the offile help for 2012 from your reseller and install that locally, or download and install the 2013 Help - realizing that it's not going to be right about everything.  Mostly right, but not completely accurate for 2012.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 9 of 10 (227 Views)

Re: F1 key now does nothing!

01-23-2013 07:20 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

Hi,

 

Do you already have the offline help files installed?

 

If you do, in Options > System tab > Autodesk Exchange > uncheck "Access online content (including Help) when available.

For offline Help browser select "Default System Browser".

Does it make any difference?

 

If it doesn't, select "Internet Explorer (Supports all functionality)".

Is there any improvement?

 

By the way, what is the support ticket number that you have logged with us? I'd like to have a look.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

 

Luciane Conceição
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 10 of 10 (185 Views)

Re: F1 key now does nothing!

01-28-2013 09:47 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

Hi,

Did any suggestion work for you?

Cheers,

Luciane

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.