AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 1 of 6 (849 Views)
Accepted Solution

Dynamic title blocks

849 Views, 5 Replies
02-04-2013 12:09 PM

I need to create a dynamic title block, so I can change the date on layout 1 and all the others change too. Can someone point me in the right direction to learn how to do this?



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)

In the title block insert a field, in the Field dialog set the Field Category on Document and you should see your custom properties.

 

When you have your drawing template file the way you want you can use the command Propulate to export a custom properties template and import it into an existing drawing. Propulate is not the most straightforward command so have some patience and pay attention to the command line.

Valued Mentor
tim.turner
Posts: 1,674
Registered: ‎04-26-2005
Message 2 of 6 (840 Views)

Re: Dynamic title blocks

02-04-2013 01:09 PM in reply to: jamesbarnett

Add your date to the Custom tab of Drawing Properties(dwgprops). Put a field in the title block to retrieve this value.

Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 3 of 6 (823 Views)

Re: Dynamic title blocks

02-05-2013 05:08 AM in reply to: tim.turner

How do I retrieve the value? 



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
Valued Mentor
tim.turner
Posts: 1,674
Registered: ‎04-26-2005
Message 4 of 6 (817 Views)

Re: Dynamic title blocks

02-05-2013 05:19 AM in reply to: jamesbarnett

In the title block insert a field, in the Field dialog set the Field Category on Document and you should see your custom properties.

 

When you have your drawing template file the way you want you can use the command Propulate to export a custom properties template and import it into an existing drawing. Propulate is not the most straightforward command so have some patience and pay attention to the command line.

Mentor
doben
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 5 of 6 (817 Views)

Re: Dynamic title blocks

02-05-2013 05:20 AM in reply to: jamesbarnett

I would use a sheet set.

Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 6 of 6 (813 Views)

Re: Dynamic title blocks

02-05-2013 05:24 AM in reply to: tim.turner

Thanks for the help.



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.