AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
cstevens
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-13-2006
Message 1 of 9 (974 Views)

Dynamic Block with visibility display does not layfreeze correctly

974 Views, 8 Replies
08-31-2011 04:35 PM

I have several dynamic blocks which have blocks within blocks.  Which block is displayed is set via visibility state.

 

An example would be a sign symbol block, which depending on the visibility state selected would display a tactile exit sign, or a tactile restroom sign.

 

The actual tactile exit sign block is created on layer zero.  The actual tactile restroom sign block is created on layer zero.

Each of these blocks is inserted on layer zero within the dynamic block.

 

I insert the symbol in my base file on the I-FLOR-ELEM layer.  The block displays in the color of the I-FLOR-ELEM layer.  If I need to change it to the I-FLOR-ELEM-EXST layer it displays with the correct color for the I-FLOR-ELEM-EXST layer.  So far so good.  Lets leave it on I-FLOR-ELEM layer for this example.

 

If I use my pick to freeze option with the intent to freeze the layer I-FLOR-ELEM, layer zero is frozen instead.

 

I would love to remake this block so that I can pick freeze and have it freeze the top layer it is inserted on.  Anyone have any ideas?

 

Thanks!

Mentor
doben
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 2 of 9 (957 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block with visibility display does not layfreeze correctly

09-01-2011 01:53 AM in reply to: cstevens

When you click on the freeze icon, notice "Settings / Undo" on the command line, type "S" for settings, then type "B" for the block nesting level.( If it is set to "E" layer 0 will freeze instead of the layer the block is inserted on.) There's also a setting there to freeze the object in the drawing  or just in the current viewport (when in floating model space) Off has the same settings too. 

Active Contributor
cstevens
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-13-2006
Message 3 of 9 (937 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block with visibility display does not layfreeze correctly

09-01-2011 08:48 AM in reply to: doben

Thank you for the tip!
I tested the SETTINGS/BLOCK,  SETTINGS/ENTITY and the SETTINGS/NONE options and found that for my case, the SETTINGS/BLOCK and the SETTINGS/ENTITY froze layer zero.  When I changed to SETTINGS/NONE, then the correct layer froze.  Yay!

 

 

...On to part two.  (I know, I know, get an inch….take a mile….)

I tried this same order of operations in a sheet file into which the drawing with the dynamic sign block is xreferenced with the net result of all of the settings resulted in layer zero freezing in lieu of the I-FLOR-ELEM layer.

Any ideas?

 

Thank you again,

 

Christina

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,884
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 4 of 9 (927 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block with visibility display does not layfreeze correctly

09-01-2011 02:15 PM in reply to: cstevens

For the xref case you need to set the LAYFRZ's block selection to Block.  I think this command treats the xref like a block so if you leave the option as None, it will freeze the top level layer, which is the layer the xref is on.

Active Contributor
cstevens
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-13-2006
Message 5 of 9 (923 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block with visibility display does not layfreeze correctly

09-01-2011 02:48 PM in reply to: ToanDN

Thank you,

 

I tried setting to block and alas! still freezing layer zero.....

 

Christina

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,884
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 6 of 9 (921 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block with visibility display does not layfreeze correctly

09-01-2011 03:00 PM in reply to: cstevens

That's strange.  I cannot replicate what you said.  Let's clarify what I have:

- everything in block is on Layer 0

- block inserted on Layer X in drawing A

- drawing A xreferenced on Layer 0 in drawing B

- LAYFRZ, Settings, Block selection = Block

- pick block and Layer X is frozen, Layer 0 remains untouched. 

 

 

Active Contributor
cstevens
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-13-2006
Message 7 of 9 (919 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block with visibility display does not layfreeze correctly

09-01-2011 03:25 PM in reply to: ToanDN

I have attached the files here.

 

Please note that the block is a block within a block.

 

Thanks!

 

 

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,884
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 8 of 9 (916 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block with visibility display does not layfreeze correctly

09-01-2011 04:25 PM in reply to: cstevens

OK now I can replicate it.  The culprit is blocks inside a block, like you said.  When I exploded the internal blocks everything works like it is supposed to.

Active Contributor
cstevens
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-13-2006
Message 9 of 9 (914 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block with visibility display does not layfreeze correctly

09-01-2011 04:39 PM in reply to: ToanDN

Yeah... I was hoping to not have to explode them as at times my dynamic blocks get exploded by users, and I don't want the symbols to become simple geometry in the lowest comon denominator's hands....perhaps I could make them a group.....hmmmm.....

 

Thanks for all of your input!  I appreciate it.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.