DWG to PDF

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
Anonymous
1906 Views, 12 Replies

DWG to PDF

Hi,

I'm having some problems when using the DWG to PDF.  When we open our PDF the parts of our drawings will be very light.  It appears that most of the time it is only circles or arcs that are coming up lighter than the specified lineweight.  When the PDF is printed everything comes out as desired, but we need good looking digital copies as well.

I've been searching around and even on these forums I found some stuff talking about using the correct CTB and some other things of that nature, but I am pretty new to autocad (and self-taught) so there are several basics things that I probably missed out on and could use some clarification on.

Thank you all in advance.

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
Jay_B
in reply to: Anonymous

" It appears that most of the time it is only circles or arcs that are coming up lighter than the specified lineweight."

If you print the same dwg to a physical printer using the same ctb do you get the same output?

Meaning are these same objects plotting too light?

More information needed like do you use "plot object lineweights" or are the weights controlled by the ctb in your workflow?

If your plotting from layout tab, could there be viewport overrides using the VP color or VP lineweight settings instead of the bylayer assignments?

C3D 2018.1
C3D 2016 SP4

Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Message 3 of 13
Anonymous
in reply to: Jay_B

Yes, I'm sorry, I had said when it is printed it comes out fine, but I realize that is confusing.  When a physical printer is used, there are no problems.  The only problems we have is with the digital copy of the PDF.

"More information needed like do you use "plot object lineweights" or are the weights controlled by the ctb in your workflow?"

I use plot object lineweights.

I also do not plot from the layout tab.  I go into the print menu and select DWG to PDF from the drop down box.