AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
danieldereus
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
Message 1 of 11 (2,782 Views)
Accepted Solution

drawing exported to PDF cut off

2782 Views, 10 Replies
04-22-2012 11:15 AM

Hi guys,

 

I recently started using AutoCAD. I drew two floor plans for an assignment I have. Now i'm trying to export the drawing into PDF (with scale set to 1:100) so I can export it into indesign and photoshop, however when I export it a small part of the drawing is cut off. I'm not sure how to describe it, but if you look at the included files you can see what i'm talking about. I have to hand in the assignment tommorow and i'm out of ideas (can't find much online). Can anybody please help me or direct me in the right direction?

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,983
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 11 (2,780 Views)

Re: drawing exported to PDF cut off

04-22-2012 11:27 AM in reply to: danieldereus

Hi,

 

>> when I export [...]

And how do you export? Did you start command EXPORT or did you use the command PLOT, if PLOT what driver did you use?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
danieldereus
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
Message 3 of 11 (2,778 Views)

Re: drawing exported to PDF cut off

04-22-2012 11:41 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I press on the big AutoCAD logo in the upper left corner, then export, then pdf, I set export to extents, page setup to overide (paper size ISO A3, landscape, plot syle none, plot scale 1:100 (mm). I've tried multipile variations on this (different paper size, diferent export (window, display)), but no luck. 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,983
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 11 (2,771 Views)

Re: drawing exported to PDF cut off

04-22-2012 12:24 PM in reply to: danieldereus

Hi,

 

Am I right that you started this from modelspace?

Try first to create a layout, with the viewports (having the scaling(s) set to what you need) and then start plot, use the "DWG to PDF.pc3" driver. That gives you much more control to what is exported.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
danieldereus
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
Message 5 of 11 (2,769 Views)

Re: drawing exported to PDF cut off

04-22-2012 12:57 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

You are right.

 

Viewports, layout, it's al very confusing, I don't completely understand it yet (I can't figure out how to change the dashed lines in layout) but I seem to have solved it, so it will do for now. Thanks a lot!

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,983
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 11 (2,750 Views)

Re: drawing exported to PDF cut off

04-23-2012 12:47 PM in reply to: danieldereus

Hi,

 

great to know that you can go on working :smileywink:

 

>> I can't figure out how to change the dashed lines in layout

The dashed lines show the border of the page that is not printable. So that are no lines like geometry that you can select and modify, it's just a visualization element.

If you do your own page-setups (defining different page-sizes for your printer-driver) you can also define the borders ==> and that is the (indirect) way of how you can influence the distance of the dashed lines from the page-limits.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
danieldereus
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
Message 7 of 11 (2,747 Views)

Re: drawing exported to PDF cut off

04-23-2012 12:52 PM in reply to: danieldereus

I know that the dashed lines are supposed to be the printable area, but they don't match with what really is.... the printable area. Maybe I dont have the right definition of what printable area is, but the way I see it my printer can print further to the edges as the dashed lines indicate.

 

But anyway thanks a lot! Just handed in my assignment and my floor plans are looking really sharp:smileyhappy:

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,983
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 11 (2,743 Views)

Re: drawing exported to PDF cut off

04-23-2012 01:01 PM in reply to: danieldereus

Hi,

 

>> but they don't match with what really is

As I described ... you have to modify page-formats or create new ones, there you can set the border of what you think is not printable (up to 0 e.g. for PDF that will not be printed).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
danieldereus
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
Message 9 of 11 (2,742 Views)

Re: drawing exported to PDF cut off

04-23-2012 01:04 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Ah okay, I will try that, didn't quite get what you ment previously.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,983
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 11 (2,738 Views)

Re: drawing exported to PDF cut off

04-23-2012 01:11 PM in reply to: danieldereus

Hi,

 

>> didn't quite get what you ment previously.

Sorry for my english, it's not my first (or second ..) language ;(

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.