AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
casey1952
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-31-2010
Message 1 of 8 (1,768 Views)

Drawing a ruler

1768 Views, 7 Replies
01-31-2010 07:56 PM
AutoCAD2010 - How do you place numbers at specific graduated locations along the edge of a ruler?
Thanks, Casey
*None
Message 2 of 8 (1,768 Views)

Re: Drawing a ruler

01-31-2010 07:58 PM in reply to: casey1952
casey1952@sbcglobal.net wrote:
> AutoCAD2010 - How do you place numbers at specific graduated locations along the edge of a ruler?
> Thanks, Casey
Offset short and long line?
Valued Mentor
TrevN
Posts: 548
Registered: ‎04-14-2008
Message 3 of 8 (1,768 Views)

Re: Drawing a ruler

02-01-2010 02:31 AM in reply to: casey1952
Press F1 then RTFM
*Murph
Message 4 of 8 (1,768 Views)

Re: Drawing a ruler

02-01-2010 05:06 AM in reply to: casey1952
Ruler: Elementary school - The wooden instrument that the nuns would whack
your knuckles with.
Ruler: High School and greater - A leader of a country such as a king or
queen.

Drawing: Elementary school - The piece of paper your took home and your mom
hangs it on the refrigerator.
Drawing: High School and greater - The act of pulling a piece of paper out
of a container with random numbers on it.

Which one are you referencing to?
:smileyhappy:

Try the divide or measure commands.

--

Murph
http://map3d.wordpress.com/


wrote in message
news:6327725@discussion.autodesk.com...
AutoCAD2010 - How do you place numbers at specific graduated locations along
the edge of a ruler?
Thanks, Casey
New Member
casey1952
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-31-2010
Message 5 of 8 (1,768 Views)

Re: Drawing a ruler

02-02-2010 09:21 PM in reply to: casey1952
A ridiculously basic situation and I've been drawing since before R13 but never ran into this: Assigned to draw a ruler 1,2,3,4,5 inches with 1/16" increments, what commands are available to put notation precisely at a particular increment?
Valued Mentor
Randy_Culp
Posts: 1,257
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 6 of 8 (1,768 Views)

Re: Drawing a ruler

02-03-2010 05:10 AM in reply to: casey1952
Search the forum for "increment AND text"

or try this old one:
http://www.budcad.com/Downloads.htm#seqtext
*None
Message 7 of 8 (1,768 Views)

Re: Drawing a ruler

02-03-2010 06:37 AM in reply to: casey1952
casey1952@sbcglobal.net wrote:
> A ridiculously basic situation and I've been drawing since before R13 but never ran into this: Assigned to draw a ruler 1,2,3,4,5 inches with 1/16" increments, what commands are available to put notation precisely at a particular increment?
Array command
Contributor
SCOTTLEVINE6990
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-20-2009
Message 8 of 8 (1,768 Views)

Re: Drawing a ruler

02-03-2010 09:32 AM in reply to: casey1952
Another efficient way would be to utilize the "AUTO NUMBER" tool in the Express Tools (tcount for cmd line). You could array your lines with dummy text and then AUTO NUMBER the text and use the OVERWRITE option. This is assuming of course you are only labeling the 1" increments (1,2, 3, 4, etc.).
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.