AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
expostudios
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-12-2012
Message 1 of 7 (164 Views)
Accepted Solution

Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

164 Views, 6 Replies
12-12-2012 02:28 PM

I have some 12 years experience with AutoCAD. And today the weirdest thing happened; the delete button on my keyboard works fine (tested on other programs), but on my AutoCAD 2012 it no longer erases selected objects. then I tried to edit text by double-clicking my mouse, and nothing happened. So, I then verified my options to make sure that the box was checked under the tab user preferences; and it was. Also, if I select any line on my drawing, I used to be able to change the color from the property's ribbon, and now I can't. I can only do so through the properties window itself.

I even tried reinstalling the entire program, and these commands still do not work.

 

Can I click something or change a feature?

CAN ANYONE HELP?

 

Thanks

Sam

PICKFIRST, set it to 1.

Distinguished Mentor
tschau3
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 2 of 7 (161 Views)

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-12-2012 02:33 PM in reply to: expostudios

PICKFIRST, set it to 1.

Active Member
expostudios
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-12-2012
Message 3 of 7 (155 Views)

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-12-2012 02:46 PM in reply to: tschau3

That was it! Thanks a million

I must have changed it unknowingly.

 

Distinguished Contributor
Coloradomrg
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎10-23-2003
Message 4 of 7 (135 Views)

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-13-2012 07:44 AM in reply to: expostudios

I've had PickFirst and a few other options reset themselves after a crash many times, so I added a little snippet to my acaddoc.lsp to cover it.  Autosave turns itself off when acad crashes sometimes too.  You can set whatever variables you want this way.

 

(if (not (= (getvar "PICKFIRST") 1))
(setvar "PICKFIRST" 1)
)

(if (not (= (getvar "SAVETIME") 10))
(setvar "SAVETIME" 10)
)

 

**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,752
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 5 of 7 (122 Views)

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-13-2012 10:56 AM in reply to: Coloradomrg

Why bother checking to see if it's set to your setting first?  All you really need is the setvar line(s).

Distinguished Contributor
Coloradomrg
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎10-23-2003
Message 6 of 7 (116 Views)

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-13-2012 12:17 PM in reply to: dmfrazier

To be honest I'm not exactly sure why I set them up that way.  I'm sure at the time I had a reason, but for the life of me I can't remember the logic behind it.

**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,752
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 7 of 7 (114 Views)

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-13-2012 12:20 PM in reply to: Coloradomrg

I know how that goes...:smileywink:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!