AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
7 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-12-2012
Post 1 of 7
Accepted Solution

Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

166 Views, 6 Replies
12-12-2012 02:28 PM

I have some 12 years experience with AutoCAD. And today the weirdest thing happened; the delete button on my keyboard works fine (tested on other programs), but on my AutoCAD 2012 it no longer erases selected objects. then I tried to edit text by double-clicking my mouse, and nothing happened. So, I then verified my options to make sure that the box was checked under the tab user preferences; and it was. Also, if I select any line on my drawing, I used to be able to change the color from the property's ribbon, and now I can't. I can only do so through the properties window itself.

I even tried reinstalling the entire program, and these commands still do not work.

 

Can I click something or change a feature?

CAN ANYONE HELP?

 

Thanks

Sam

PICKFIRST, set it to 1.

Distinguished Mentor
509 Posts
23 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Post 2 of 7

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-12-2012 02:33 PM in reply to: expostudios

PICKFIRST, set it to 1.

Active Member
7 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-12-2012
Post 3 of 7

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-12-2012 02:46 PM in reply to: tschau3

That was it! Thanks a million

I must have changed it unknowingly.

 

Distinguished Contributor
103 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-23-2003
Post 4 of 7

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-13-2012 07:44 AM in reply to: expostudios

I've had PickFirst and a few other options reset themselves after a crash many times, so I added a little snippet to my acaddoc.lsp to cover it.  Autosave turns itself off when acad crashes sometimes too.  You can set whatever variables you want this way.

 

(if (not (= (getvar "PICKFIRST") 1))
(setvar "PICKFIRST" 1)
)

(if (not (= (getvar "SAVETIME") 10))
(setvar "SAVETIME" 10)
)

 

**Master
2,780 Posts
178 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Post 5 of 7

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-13-2012 10:56 AM in reply to: Coloradomrg

Why bother checking to see if it's set to your setting first?  All you really need is the setvar line(s).

Distinguished Contributor
103 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-23-2003
Post 6 of 7

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-13-2012 12:17 PM in reply to: dmfrazier

To be honest I'm not exactly sure why I set them up that way.  I'm sure at the time I had a reason, but for the life of me I can't remember the logic behind it.

**Master
2,780 Posts
178 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Post 7 of 7

Re: Disappearing commands - HELP PLEASE

12-13-2012 12:20 PM in reply to: Coloradomrg

I know how that goes...:smileywink:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!